Whatever!

What to muse about today?

August 3, 2011

on August 3, 2011

OMG!  They’re remaking the movie that terrified me as a kid.  The movie that haunted me, that gave me nightmares well into my 20’s, and also my 30’s, if i’m brutally honest.

It also started my need to watch other horror  movies, to see as many as I could.  Home, alone.  To read them.  To be stronger than I felt.  To not be scared.

This movie that had me jumping at shadows.  The movie that had me sleeping with my hands (and feet) under the covers for years.  You know.  If your hands are even the tiniest bit exposed from under the protection of the blanket, they get you.  If the sheets aren’t tight, they could get in.  I thought they would come get me.  And drag me into the fireplace.

I still don’t like loose sheets.  They need to be nice and tight and tucked in.  No drafts.  No way for little demonic creatures to get in.

I never remembered the name of this movie, I don’t think I ever knew it.  The scene that haunted me the most was the bathroom scene.  By the vicious little creatures attacking the wife, with a razor, using pin-like things as swords.  They were definitely not the Borrowers.

Disembodied voices calling out, from seemingly everywhere and nowhere.  Voices that make you look over your shoulder as you sit in a room.

I’m not sure if I’m happy they’re doing a remake, or terrified.  But because of the trailer I saw last night, I now know what the movie is called.  It’s called Don’t Be Afraid of the Dark.

Although I didn’t know it, it was a made for TV movie.  It always seemed to be on TV growing up – the ABC evening movie on Saturdays, (or was it Sundays?) and sometimes the afternoon matinee.  I know at least one babysitter let me watch it.  Once, I snuck down and watched TV late at night after the rest of the house was asleep, and this movie was on.  (This was when we actually had a TV).  Watching this movie was a regret.  Almost every single time.  Still.  I couldn’t get enough of it.  That and some movie with a voodoo doll.

I don’t know if I’ll go see the remake.  It may not be a good idea.  To be fair, it looks like Guellermo del Toro has made it super creepy, even if he changed it a bit.  But he got the voice right.

For years, I didn’t live in a house with a fireplace.

This house has a fireplace.

3 responses to “August 3, 2011

  1. lisasff says:

    Lori G* commented on your post.

    Lori wrote: “You’ve been tormented by this movie for 20 years now? I would think it is a no-brainer to NEVER see it again. Remake or not. LOL…”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

    Lori, well the torment has been fewer and further between as I grow up – yes, I’m still growing up! It was such a big part of my childhood, it left such a big mark… it might be nice to conquer it, again. I will admit to being a little curious as to what del Toro has done to it…

    • lisasff says:

      Lori wrote: “I would never venture to see it. Especially knowing there will be times when I am all alone with two small children in the house at night. Last horror movie I saw was Poltergeist. That did it for me at 14. Never again.”

      *~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

      Most horror movies don’t phase me too much. Saw, Texas Chainsaw Massacre, they didn’t make me flinch. Spec? That spooked me a little, but that was because he was killing nurses who lived alone in a dorm/house.

      Poltergeist was a good spooky movie :)

  2. lisasff says:

    Kat O* W* commented on your post.

    Kat wrote: “don’t do horror movies….”

    *~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

    Kat, you definately don’t want to see this one! :)

Please Share Your Thoughts

