Whatever!

What to muse about today?

July 25, 2011

on July 25, 2011

 Life has been busy!  So much has happened, so many things to update!  I didn’t get too many opportunities to pull out the laptop while Stu’s family was here, so I got behind.  Then, after they left,  I put off coming back here, because I didn’t know where to start.  It got overwhelming.  And each day only made it worse.  So, let’s just do a quick list and get on with it.

  • Stu’s mom and sister came over for a visit.  We hadn’t seen them in almost a year.  Of course, they hadn’t been able to see the new one yet, so they just soaked her up.  Teagan really latched on to her “Auntie Em,” and Emily did a great job playing with her.  So cute to see the two of them together.  Emily also did fantastically with Ashlin, once she got over the fear of holding a baby.  She’s quite the baby whisperer.
  • Anywhere we went, we needed to take two cars.  Four adults and two kids that need car seats did not allow for quick dashes in one car anywhere.
  • We went to the ZOO!  Of course, it ended up being in the middle of the heat wave.  HOT!  Teagan walked almost the entire afternoon, she did not want to ride in the stroller.  By the end of the day she asked Stu for “uppy!”  Stu said that if she was tired, she could ride in the stroller.  Teagan thought for a minute, and then replied “little tired.”  This kid is going to give us trouble.  I’m sure of it.  Ashlin was awake for quite a bit of the day, but eventually fell asleep.
  • I made jam with my MIL.  Well, Emily helped a little.  We didn’t get to go berry picking, unfortunately.  But berries were on sale at so many of the stores, we ended up getting a bunch and then made three (!) batches:  one  Strawberry, one Blueberry/Raspberry/Blackberry and one everything.  One jar ended up getting the last drips of all three batches, and oh, so good!  Makes one damn fine peanut butter and jelly sandwich.
  • We went to the beach!  Ashlin was awake for a bit of that too – she seems to be more awake now – and Teagan was good.  It was in the middle of the heat wave.  HOT!  Teagan did not want to go in the ocean, but she did eat the sand.
  • We went shopping!  So nice to get back to the outlets again.
  • Ashlin rolled over, and MIL was there to see it!  Yay, so glad that she got to see a first.  Then she wouldn’t roll for a few days, now anytime you put her on the floor, the first thing she does is roll.
  • Ashlin giggles now.  She’s still getting used to doing it, but she’s laughed for me, my sister, Stu and I think my mom.  They’re awesome little laughs, that you need to work for.  The same thing won’t work twice in a row.  I may have gotten some on video though!
  • Stu, along with Teagan, Lynne and Emily, surprised me a few days before my birthday (but they day they left) with an ice cream cake and Teagan singing “Happy day day mama!”  So sweet.
  • He also  got me an iPad for my birthday.  It’s lovely.  And take-out Thai.  And chocolate.  And champagne.  And three books:
  1. Monsters Eat Whiny Children – this made Teagan a bit uncomfortable when I read it to her :)
  2. Go the F**k To Sleep.
  3. The new Evanovich!
  • Oh, and Just Dance for the Wii.  I didn’t think I’d like it, but it is fun.  And a bit of a work out.  Teagan loves it too.  She’ll ask us to dance.  He favorite song is “Who let the dogs out?”  Stu’s favorite is Elvis’ “A little more understanding.”  Teagan refers to him as “Man”
  • I spent all of last week trying to clear a clogged duct.  Two days of working on it at home – heat, massage, compressions, nursing, pumping – before seeing a doctor.  Only to have them tell me what I already knew, and to have me do more of the same.  It sucks.  Second doctor visit, she thought it may have progressed to mastitis.  I’m on antibiotics and there doesn’t seem to be any unclogging happening.  So frustrating, it’s been a full week now.  At least the pain is gone, so I can pick up Teagan and Ashlin.  The blinding white pain was not fun at all.  It doesn’t feel good, but it’s not burning pain any more.  The clog hasn’t gotten any bigger, but it hasn’t gotten any smaller.  Midwife said today that if it’s not better by the time I’m done with the round of antibiotics, I will need to get an ultrasound and possibly a surgical consult.  Great.
  • Somehow my baby is now three and a half.  Where has all the time gone?  She’s not supposed to grow up this fast!
I guess that’s really all for now…  I’m sure I’ll remember something else tomorrow.  But then that’ll be an entry for tomorrow.
4 responses to “July 25, 2011

  1. lisasff says:

    Lori G* commented on your post.

    Lori wrote: “Lovely post. Thanks for sharing.Love the new pics. I hope your health issues heal quickly. That has got to be uncomfortable to say the least. Please do not put off further testing if necessary. Keep me posted.”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

    Lori: Thanks.

    As far as the health issue – pain is mostly gone, red is fading, so getting better. Midwife wants me to get an ultrasound and depending on how that goes, maybe a consult. We’ll see.

  2. lisasff says:

    Kathy O* W* commented on your post.

    Kathy wrote: “I agre with Lori…lovely post. It sounded like a special time with MIL & SIL…glad you had time to can and them to be able to share some ‘moments’ with the girls. And again with Lori….don’t put off further testing….Thanks for sharing your family.”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

    Kat: Thanks! I appreciate your reading! I’m glad you enjoy the oversharing :D

    It was a nice visit with the in-laws. Shame they’re not closer, so they can get more of the firsts and those special moments. Or even just the everyday ones too.

    The “girls” will be looked at soon, the midwife is getting an ultrasound scheduled, and we’ll go from there.

  3. […] July 25, 2011 (lisasff.wordpress.com) Eco World Content From Across The Internet. Featured on EcoPressed Fossil Fuels: Will North America be the new Middle East? Share this:StumbleUponDiggRedditTwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  4. […] though usually we’re running around with one thing or another.  I also like making jam so there’d be a use for all the berries I remember coming home with when I went picking as a […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

