Whatever!

What to muse about today?

June 28, 2011

on June 28, 2011
mice
the closet floor

Mice.  We have mice.  In the house, not just in the garage or the basement.

There have always seemed to be a mouse in the basement.  The old house had mice, stands to reason that the new one does too.  The garage, well mice there is not surprising either, it does open to the outside and the car doors don’t appear to seal well.

Stu has been putting down no-kill traps in the basement and caught a few over the past months.  He takes them with him when he takes Teagan to day care.  She’ll watch him let them go, and laughs, asks for him to do it again.  I think she once called them “squirrel!”

The mice from the garage – if they are mice, they have mouse like droppings – are more annoying.  They’ve eaten their way out of the no-kill traps. The electric box and the wiring is really my concern.  If they get in the walls, then we’ll be in trouble.

The mice in the house.  This is a completely different story.  I discovered them when trying to put some of Teagan’s toys in the family room closet.  Droppings everywhere.  Gross.

Growing up, I had lots of pet mice.  Lots and lots.  Mice in general don’t bother me, I don’t get squeamish or anything.  I’m not a fan of them being free in my living space.  Stu got some sort of glue trap for the closet.

It’s been two days since he put the kill traps down, and hasn’t caught/killed one  yet.  We still have the no-kill traps in the basement.  We may move up to something more durable but no-kill for the garage.  We’ll see.

7 responses to “June 28, 2011

  1. lisasff says:

    Lori G* commented on your post.

    Lori wrote: “AAAAAKKKKK !! Get rid of them immediately! They procreate like mad! And bring terrrible illness with them. And got forbid they die in a wall the smell will be unbearable. Time to call in an exterminator.I guarantee there is not just one or two mice but an entire colony of them.”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

    Yeah, Lori. I know mice. Remember how many I had growing up? Granted, mine were domesticated pets, so not quite the same thing as deer mice. But we are working on getting rid of them. If we called an exterminator, I’d think they’d die in the walls. Don’t you? We do have traps – kill and no-kill – set. We do need to clean out the garage a bit more to see if we can get the nests out there. I think the basement is good – we haven’t seen any sign there in a while.

  2. Kris A says:

    I agree with Lori…I think it is time to call the professionals. When we had seen just 2 in the house the exterminator said that probably meant there were 10x more hiding. With your kitchen in between the garage and the closet I would bet you have had them running in the kitchen cabinets. Add this to the ants and I think you need help. Tell them you have little ones and they can use the least strong pesticides, etc and they will also treat the outside. We have only had one mouse (dead in bsmt trap) and one sighting of droppings in 6 years since we called Ehrlich.

    • lisasff says:

      I think we’re going to give it a little more time before we call in a professional. We haven’t had any new traces this past week in the basement, the kill trap in the closet hasn’t been tripped yet. The garage needs to be cleaned out a bit – huge piece of sheet rock needs to be moved and swept behind, one hole needs to be plugged by a socket. I emptied out the pantry and nothing has been touched, and there are no holes in the backing…

      I haven’t seen any new ants since Saturday. Stu got a spray and sprayed both inside and out.

      I won’t let it go for too long though. Any new signs in the house and we’ll get someone in.

  3. lisasff says:

    Wendy B* S* commented on your post.

    Wendy wrote: “Time to talk to the cat. Someone is falling down on the job!”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

    I think the cat retired a while ago… She’s 16 years old and isn’t jumping too well :(

    • lisasff says:

      Kathy O* W* commented on your post.

      Kathy wrote: “Get a new cat???? :-)”

      ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

      Stu doesn’t want to get a new cat just now. Maybe when the baby is a bit older. I kinda want to get one, maybe two, now while I’m staying home and can train them a bit.

  4. Kate says:

    Ha, I was thinking just that–here kitty kitty! Of course my cats are terrible mousers. But if you ever want to add a kitty, let me know. I used to volunteer at a shelter near me and am friends with the woman who runs it.
    ~Kate

    • lisasff says:

      Kate, I’ll need to remember that! I do prefer getting rescue cats instead of from a store… They’re the sweetest kitties.

Please Share Your Thoughts

