Whatever!

What to muse about today?

April 5, 2011

on April 5, 2011

Today was Ashlin’s first doctor visit.  We were late.  Of course.  I needed to nurse her before we left, and she decided that she’d dilly dally and not be the chap nurser that she’s been the past day or so.  Oh well.  We were late.

The appointment went well.  She’s gained 5oz since discharge, which is good for a breastfed baby.  She’s not grown, though her head has shrunk (just an eight of an inch).  Doc said she looked wonderful.  Little jaundice, but not enough to worry about.  I knew I wasn’t crazy when I said I thought she had a slightly yellow tint.

The only thing that was a bit concerning, and even then not really, was that we need to retest her blood from the PKU.  Her results came back as high for thyroid.  Doctor said that the range they put in is very large, so there are lots of false positives.  He doesn’t think there’s anything to worry about.  But the results should be back by Friday.

We should also hear sometime this week about setting up the ultrasound for the hip dysplasia.  The doctor today thinks the clicking I feel/hear is coming from her knee, not her hip.  It made me feel good that I wasn’t dismissed,  but listened to.  He gave me a very possible alternative – and hey, what do I know?  I just know I hear/feel something when I change her diaper.  Something.

~~~

Teagan was in a funny mood tonight once she got home from day care.  She caught her finger on one of the gates, and was nearly inconsolable.  I asked if she wanted to sit on my lap and have me look at it.  She said she did.  So, once I got settled, mom put her in my lap.  She sat there a minute or so, we had a snuggle, and then she was better.

Dinner, could be considered a disaster.  Not total, but very nearly.  Mom had made dinner, and pulled some aside to cool for Teagan.  Stu got her settled in her chair, and then went to put her bib on.  She wanted nothing to do with her bib.   She was like that last night too, but I didn’t think much of it.

Anyway, she was just prickly through the dinner.  Didn’t want the food, wanted the food, threw a bit, played with a bit.  Tried to make us laugh.  (We totally need to stop her trying to “entertain” at mealtime).

Since she was “all dun” with her chicken, she handed me the plate, and me not being able to lean over far enough barely touched the bowl as she let go, and it fell on the floor.  If I had been able to lean over, I would have had a better grip.  And then I can’t clean it up.  Frustrating for both her and me.  And my wonderful family that have to pick up the slack for me.  (Can you tell I’m tired of not being 100%?  Even 60% would be better.  I know I’m getting there though).

As she needed to have something to eat, I offered her some cheerios and string cheese.  Teagan said that would be acceptable.  LOL.  Mom wanted to give her some left over Chinese, some left over manicotti, something else.   I do not want to get in the habit of short oder cooking for her, so if she’s not going to eat dinner with us, she can have an easy alternative – o’s and cheese.  If I was more healed, I would have offered her some yogurt, but I didn’t have the strength to mix the fruit in.

She was eating her string cheese, again, trying to make us laugh, and got a piece stuck in her throat.  She was able to pull it out.  But then she did it again.  On purpose.  This time, she ended up gagging and throwing up a little bit.  I don’t think she expected that to happen.

Strawberries were a hit, as they always are.  She can’t get enough of them.  LOL.  Dinner ended well.  Bedtime was a different story.  It was almost like Sybill had taken over.

Maybe she’s over tired, maybe she’s just reacting to having her world turned upside down.  Hopefully we’ll get our sweet girl (who’s gotten so big!) back all the time, soon.

4 responses to “April 5, 2011

  1. Kris A says:

    I think you hit the nail on the head..she is reacting to her world changing so rapidly. Sounds like she was doing everything to get your attention, good or bad. It’s also the age..she knows all of your buttons and is trying to feel like she has control over her world. She is being “needier” than the baby. It will pass, but this is part of toddlerhood even if Ashlin wouldn’t have arrived!

    • lisasff says:

      Yeah, it probably is. I was talking about it with my mom today. Teagan is generally such a good kid that when she is “bad” it’s not easy. Most other people probably wouldn’t even notice her “bad”… LOL!

      I really hope she doesn’t know all the buttons, yet. I think she’s just pushing madly trying for some reaction. Sometimes it’s hard to have my parents not react, which makes it a bit more difficult, but they’re getting better about it Not everyone needs to talk to her when she’s waving a fork around. LOL.

  2. lisasff says:

    Kat commented on your post.

    Kat wrote: “I agree with Kris A. It’s a repsonse to the changes she’s undergoing with a new baby in the house, along with the extra people to entertain. Hopefully, it’ll settle down quickly and not hit again until she really is deep into the terrible twos for sure. ”
    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

    I’m hoping that she sees that she hasn’t been replaced, that she’s still loved and just as important to us as she was before this new thing came into her life.

    Just this morning she pulled her first wardrobe demand. She never requested/demanded/refused to wear anything before!

    Tonite, she had a little meltdown at dinner, but we were able to pull her back in line.

    • lisasff says:

      Kat wrote: “It’s still very early with all the new things. Give it time. :-) xxxooo”

      ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

      Kat: I know, I will. I guess I was just panicking. It’s a lot to take in and adjust to at once :)

Please Share Your Thoughts

