Whatever!

What to muse about today?

March 29, 2011

on March 29, 2011
Baby Girl!
Born at 11:52am
Weight: 7 lbs 11 oz
Height: 19.25 inches
Head Circumference:  14.25 inches

So, she was born this morning! The labor /delivery nurse was the same person as when I labored for Teagan, as well as when I was sent to L&D a few weeks ago.  Nice.  I actually enjoyed her much more when she wasn’t pushing any pitocin

The procedure wasn’t fun, but it’s over now.  The anesthesiologist was very nice, and talked me through all the different bits.  The doctors ended up needing to use forceps on her to get her out.  She wasn’t engaged (it is early)  and they couldn’t get a grip on her to get her out.  Stu said they were “in up to their elbows” trying to get her.  I asked if she was jammed up into my ribs so as to not get out.  LOL.  There was also a large fibroid in the way.  Her eye got a bit bruised, but should be just fine in a few days .  We were told to expect it to look bad tomorrow.  You could see it worsening as the day progressed.

She ended up being 7 lbs 11 oz.  Not too big, just about what they estimated her last week.  She looks simply tiny.  She ended up having some breathing issues – a bit raspy, due to the c-section not squashing her respiratory track like a vaginal birth does.  So, they let me see her, give her a kiss or two and then whisked her away to newborn care – not NICU.

You can see mark from the forceps on her eye.

Turns out that it was a good thing I didn’t birth vaginally,  even though she wasn’t anywhere near as big as they thought she’d be.  I may have something to be grateful for in that damn placenta/overlying vessels.  That large fibroid down near the cervix, would have made it impossible for her to fit out.  The Doctor ended up needing to remove it, and I ended up with four bags of blood, two bags of plasma.  I lost track of how many bags of saline and “stuff” they pushed into me.  I think the process (which started early) lasted about an hour longer than they said it would, thanks to the complications.

While they were getting the fibroid out, and then sewing up layer after layer of me, I got the shakes very badly.  So the anesthesiologist gave me a Behr hug heated blanket over my arms that helped a bit.  I then got another one back in recovery.  Ended up staying in recovery for about 2 hours.

They ended up keeping her until about 9pm (where’s my baby!?!) because her glucose level kept dropping.  She got about 60ml of formula, a bunch of glucose.  Her level would be good, then bad.  Stu went to go see her while I stayed in recovery.  He brought me back pictures of her.  She has a lot of black hair!  OMG!  I got to see her and hold her around 4pm.  Too long of a wait.

First time being held by mama

We ended up cycling my parents and sister through the newborn room to see her and then up to visit with me.  They sort of forgave us for not calling earlier once they found out that I’d only seen her for about 10 minutes.

They finally released her to us around 9pm, after I went down stairs in the wheelchair.  Yes, I got up!  The nurses helped get me out of bed and settled in the chair.  I didn’t push them to go, they actually said I needed to get up anyway.  It hurt a lot but I really wanted to see and hold my baby.  When we got down there, they said they were just about to send her up.  Sometimes it’s the squeaky wheel.

It felt so good to hold her.  It took about 10 hours,  but she’s finally up with us.

Now, to figure out who she is.  LOL!

28 responses to “March 29, 2011

  1. Wendy says:

    Wendy wrote:
    “Congratulations on Little Baby Who! ! !
    Btw: please thwack Stu for texting Michele. She didn’t bother to pass on the message until I called her and asked if she heard anything around 7:00 tonight. Next time, NOT Michele. :-)”

  2. Uncle Pete says:

    Peter wrote: “Lisa, these are most excellent photos. Thank you so much for sharing. So much is happening in your life, and glad to see it is all good!”

  3. Colleen says:

    Colleen wrote: “C O N G R A T U L A T I O N S ! ! ! she is beautiful.. so so happy for you and that all this is behind you and you have this beautiful girl in front of you.. Sweetness.. <3 <3 <3.. Peace..

  4. Liz says:

    Liz wrote: “Congrats Stu and Lisa!! She is a beauty!!! What a beautiful family!!”

  5. Megan says:

    Megan wrote: “Congrats! She’s a beautiful little girl! Hope your recovery is going well. :)”

  6. Mandy says:

    Amanda wrote: “She’s gorgeous!!! I hope you’re doing well. I’m thinking of you.”

  7. Becky says:

    Becky wrote:
    “Congrats, Momma!!”

  8. Nina says:

    Nina wrote: “ooooooooo.congrats!!!!!!!!”

  9. Diane says:

    Diane wrote: “congrats Lisa!!! what’s her name? how’d Teagan like her little sister??”

  10. Vicky says:

    Vicky wrote: “Congratulations!!!”

  11. Sarah says:

    Sarah wrote: “Oh she’s gorgeous! I love her cheeks <3 Hope she gets to feeling better and off those wires & tubes soon!!"

  12. Kris A says:

    She’s gorgeous! So glad that you are all safe and sound. I guess life works in mysterious ways..the c section was the right choice.

    • lisasff says:

      Thanks – again!! Finally getting to all the comments that I just didn’t have time too before….

      I do think that things worked out for the best, even if I’m still not happy. I’m very happy I never looked up vasa previa until afterwards.

  13. Renee says:

    Congrats! I can hardly wait to hear her name. I hope you feel better soon!

  14. Kate says:

    Yay! Welcome baby, ummm, welcome baby! Glad she was a good motivator to get you out of bed, even though not quite the way things were “planned.” So glad to hear that everyone is on the mend and that she’s with you all now. Enjoy! Looking forward to a more formal introduction when you all are ready.

    • lisasff says:

      Ashlin is the best motivator. Even now :)

      We have to hit the pediatrician monday or tuesday (if they can’t get us in), maybe we’ll see once I get that set up?

  15. Uncle Frankie says:

    Congratulations! She is gorgeous!!! You & Stuart do great work together.

    • lisasff says:

      Thanks!!! Good to talk to you today too! Amazing how quickly time goes by with two kids to deal with :D

  16. Barbara Rutkowski (ff) says:

    Beautiful beautiful beautiful! Big congrats and hopes for a speedy recovery!

    • lisasff says:

      Barb! Thanks!! I think recovery isn’t going to be as bad as I feared. It’s still not good, but not the nightmare that I had thought… Sort of like the staples, they weren’t so bad to have removed… they didn’t use a stapler remover! LOL!

      BTW, with Amelia, she needed a brace for a little bit – was that because of hip dysplasia?

  17. […] March 29, 2011 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

