Whatever!

What to muse about today?

March 23, 2011

on March 23, 2011

Since I have no choice and am medically required to have a c-section, I started the paperwork yesterday.  Just the act of scheduling a c-section makes it an elective procedure.  Don’t get me started on that.  It makes me very pissed off.

So, the High Risk OB’s recommend the section before 37w5d, but that would be Thursday, March 30.  The way both my and Stu’s work scheduled are next week, Friday works out better – 37w6d – April 1st.  That’s what I asked my OB to set up.  He said it shouldn’t be a problem.  Cool.  This kid that’s been torturing me the past few months can have her birthday on April Fool’s Day.  LOL!

Anyway, paperwork can’t really get finished until today.  So, I call mid-morning to see how every thing is going.  The scheduler said that 4/1 is all booked, so the next possible day would be 4/11.  She said the OB I saw last night was in surgery all day, so she was going to ask him tomorrow.  I said that MFM – High Risk – recommended by 37.5, so 4/11 would be later than they wanted.  She cant’ do anything without one of her OB’s confirming it.  I suggest she call one of the other OB’s – my “bad news” doc, or the one that delivered Teagan, or the one I usually see for my annuals. 

She eventually ends up getting the “bad news” doctor, who said that 4/11 is too late, so the only other option may be Tuesday 3/29.  It can’t be Monday, as I need to have the amnio before hand to check lung maturity.  Well, Tuesday is not a good day for either Stu nor myself.  Like we can even be picky.  Like we have any control over stuff like this.

Bottom line, she never called back to tell me what day/time I will end up getting cut open and having this little girl.  So, I have no idea what’s happening.  I need to call back tomorrow.

12 responses to “March 23, 2011

  1. Kris A says:

    Both your jobs are going to have to understand that this isn’t an optional thing, that the health of you and the baby are at risk. I’m surprised they had either of you doing such important things so close to your due date. Could the high risk group do the c-section instead of your regular OB?

    • lisasff says:

      High Risk OB’s are booked for the next seven weeks. They don’t have any slots. I guess even they thought my placenta would resolve. LOL! I suppose someone would find a place if I needed an emergency section.

      I am almost done with my work. And for being four three weeks away, mostly transitioned off anyway. I have to training sessions/meetings next week, and then I am in the clear the following Monday. Go figure. Even Friday 4/1 gave me a bit of “oh, I’m not ready!” But no where near what Tuesday does!

      Stu, well he’s not giving birth, so his work load is a bit different. He’s also been working on a project that has the consultants and some big wigs coming over from the UK next week. He also does some reporting at month end that no one else can cover for. 4/1 can be snuck in, but earlier makes it a bit difficult.

      It will be what it has to be. And work does understand. Mostly :) Though it was a fun thing to try for – an April Fools Day baby :)

      Corrected for sleep and caffiene :)

  2. Mags says:

    That’s so unfair that it gets considered an elective c-section when it’s only for medical reasons.

    I had a friend as a kid who was born on 1 April – she got wound up a lot by the rest of us!

    • lisasff says:

      Liz, isn’t it crazy?? It’s just not right! I do want to find out if there’s a difference in insurance coverage if it’s “elective” vs. medically required, and if it’s possible to have it reclassified if there is.

      Looks like we may not have the fun birthday, as there are so many “elective” c-sections scheduled. But we’ll find out soon! I have to chase down the surgical scheduler today.

  3. Jessie says:

    Why does it have to be so early!

  4. lisasff says:

    Jessie: They don’t want me to go into labor with the placenta previa and the vessels overlaying the cervix. Also, they think this is a good sized baby, and want to avoid some complications. It’s not too early – I’ll be 37w3d if it’s Tuesday 37w6d if it’s Friday. Full term.

    Not full enough term to avoid an amnio to check for lung maturity, but still, if I went into labor now, they wouldn’t stop it.

  5. Kris A says:

    Do you have a back up person if Stu can’t be there on Tuesday? I hope they can work his schedule around you, especially because there should be a fairly set start time/end time. I can’t imagine that anyone, consultants, visiting brits, could fault him for wanting to witness the birth of his child and offer support to his wife during surgery.

    • lisasff says:

      Stu’s pretty sure he’ll have no trouble getting out for the actual surgery. He may have to work Sunday and have his laptop with him for after… Worse case scenario, I may be able to hit up a mommy friend (hi!), but it should be ok.

      I do think that if this project was going along normally, there’d be no issues at all! LOL! This one seems to be doomed, they’ve already extended the go/no-go 3 weeks. Fun.

      I suggested that he ask one of them to bring him over some jelly babies, so he has something to snack on while he’s supporting me :D

  6. lisasff says:

    Loretta wrote: WTH is wrong with these people! Hugs

  7. lisasff says:

    Colleen wrote: “4/1 sounds great.. : ) All the best.. <3 the updates.."

  8. lisasff says:

    Cheryl wrote: “more hugs”

  9. lisasff says:

    Kat wrote: ” what did she say??? :-)”

Please Share Your Thoughts

