Whatever!

What to muse about today?

March 15, 2011

on March 15, 2011

I think I’m in love.  With my new yoga ball.  I hope Stu doesn’t think I’m cheating.  It feels fantastic to sit on the yoga ball.  No, not like that!  But when I do sit on it, my back doesn’t hurt.  The pain melts away.

It was something the Chiro suggested doing two visits ago.  When I mentioned I didn’t have one, he said I could use the kitchen counter – hello lovely island! – instead.  The ball is better.  Much better.

At the end of this morning’s adjustment session he had me sit on one for a few minutes before I left.  The session was quite painful, actually.  I had to have him stop three times, my hip was throbbing so badly. 

Again, my hip didn’t pop.  After almost 30 minutes he apologized a bit, saying that he couldn’t keep pounding on me.  I know.  I’m frustrated about it as well.  The hip that has the torsion is the one that will usually pop at the drop of a hat, when I’m not pregnant. 

He’s asked me to come in every day this week – probably until we get the torsion out.  Hopefully tomorrow and the rest of the week won’t be quite as painful.  But after the ball, and 20 minutes of heat – have I mentioned how I LOVE the heated seats in my car? – everything was much better.  

I went out and got me a yoga ball as soon as I could.

6 responses to “March 15, 2011

  1. Mags says:

    I didn’t have one, but the ante-natal and delivery rooms at the hospital did. I spent a LOT of my labour sitting on it, leaning on the bed and swaying! GJ was pressing her head against the sacrum so it was the most comfortable way to manage the pain.

    Hope the hip pops this week!

    • lisasff says:

      Liz, birthing balls were awesome with Teagan’s labor. I had so much back labor that I was sure she was grabbing every disk in my spine as she came down. It was such a relief to be on hands and knees with her.

      I’m very surprised how nice this is now, pre-labor. Though I did ask Stu if I could have an epidural now. LOL

      Sent from my iPod

      • Mags says:

        Our ante-natal yoga teacher advised us all to swap our chairs for them when we were 5 months along. I didn’t. ;)

        • lisasff says:

          I’ve read that it’s a good thing, but I didn’t either… i’m too short to use it and be ergonomically positioned. LOL! I have been sitting on it every day since I got it, as often as possible. The only place it fits in our living room is behind the sofa that Stu sits on, and I seem to scare him a bit as he gets involved in what he’s doing and forgets I’m right behind him. LOL!

  2. Kris A says:

    Thank goodness you found some relief. Maybe you can bring it to the hospital if need be!

    • lisasff says:

      They have birthing balls in lots of sizes at the hospital. I labored with Teagan on one. Gotta love back labor.

      I’m surprised I didn’t get one after the labor class last time, though I didn’t have the back pain prenatal like this time.

      Sent from my iPod

Please Share Your Thoughts

