Whatever!

What to muse about today?

March 7, 2011

on March 7, 2011
yumm... apple
mmmm… apple slices

This morning the midwife confirmed what I thought.  The baby has not turned.  Yet.  She’s turning into one stubborn pre-escapee. 

I had told Stu yesterday, that I didn’t think she had turned.  He had a word or two with her.  She may be one of the first babies to come into this world grounded.
 
Anyway, I have another appointment in two weeks, to see if she’s still turned the wrong way.  I’m not even worrying about posterior occiput, whatever.  Yet.  We need to turn her around!  There is still time, so I’m not really panicking.  Yet.
She also suggested seeing a chiropractor to see if 1.  he could help my back pain and 2.  help turn her if the “exercises” don’t.
 
My back has been painful this time.  Almost like back labor, but it doesn’t always come in waves.  Today, I woke up hurting.  And it’s not like I can lie on a board or the floor to make it feel better.  Or lie on my stomach to get a massage – Stu has offered.  After today, if our insurance will cover it, I will go.  Anything that makes my back feel better and easier to walk.  He also does moxibustion.  But we don’t need to think about that, yet.  There’s still time to turn her :)
 
So, my next midwife appointment is two days after the High-Risk visit, where they’ll check placenta, growth and confirm position.  So, in two weeks we’ll know what needs to be done, and how. 
 
If the placenta  hasn’t moved, it’s a c-section for me.  I was really hoping (still am!!) for another vaginal birth.  After the hours of contractions, back labor, it really felt good to push.  I’ll miss that, and then have a much more difficult recovery.  Anyway.  It’s not really in my hands.  We can get this baby to turn, even if we need to do a Version.
 
Unless there’s a complication or reason, they will schedule a c-section at 39 weeks.  I’m not sure if that means when I’ve started 39 weeks or have completed 39 weeks.  The way I feel now, I’d like a St. Paddy’s baby.  LOL!
 
8 responses to “March 7, 2011

  1. Renee Romaine says:

    This is so exciting!! I’m so happy for you Lisa!! Do you know that it’s a girl??

  2. lisasff says:

    Renee, yeah. It’s getting very exciting. We found out it was a girl, so, she’ll be getting a LOT of hand-me-downs… We figured for Teagan, the surprise was good. For this one, well, we have a chromosomal guarantee.

  3. Kris A says:

    I know you don’t want a c-section but whatever is safest. At least it would be planned and you could have parents at the ready, etc. You have a feisty kid in there!! And if she is still big, a section might be less painful than a vaginal birth..trust me, an extra pound or 2 makes a huge difference in your recovery down there! I hope the chiropractor can help relieve some of your pain!!

    • lisasff says:

      Yeah. I really don’t. I don’t know if it’s because it’s actual surgery – being sliced open and then sewed (or stapled! Ouch!) back up. Or that I’ll actually miss pushing. This is going to be the last time I’ll get to do that. Will I miss the oxytocin high, the feeling of empowerment of actually pushing her out? Or will it be devoid of all that? I know her size will make a big difference. But still, will I feel cheated if I have to have a section? Will I feel she robed me of something visceral and vital and important?

  4. lisasff says:

    Kat commented on your post.

    Kat wrote: “I’ll add my ‘baby turning thoughts’ here as well. The chiro appt might just be the thing. Back pain isn’t fun even when you’re not pregnant. OUCH. Stu can still ‘rub’ the area without you being on your stomach. He’s a sweetie. Hugs to you all.”

    *~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

    Kat: Thank you! Stu has given some nice rubs on my back… I know I could sit in a chair for counter pressure and have him try again… hum… we’ll see how I feel after the chiro :) I’m actually going later today. Turns out the ch chiropractor is covered by my insurance! Woo woo! He said that they can start working on trying to turn her now.

  5. lisasff says:

    Nina commented on your post.

    Niina wrote: “goodness time flies. thinking lots of baby turning thoughts for you!! hope it works.”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

    It does. Seems only yesterday I had the positive pregnancy test. LOL! And thank you for the turning thoughts. I can use all the positive ones I can get! Cross your fingers for placenta resolution as well!

    • lisasff says:

      Nina wrote: “Have you tried the donkey kick thing? Well, thats what I call it. When you get on hands and knees and hope it shifts the baby?I’ll send Good Placenta thoughts there too. These last few days are mentally harrowing so you think good thoughts as well.”

      ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

      I don’t think I’ve done that. I’ve done the open knees chest (knees hip width apart, chest and shoulders on the floor), a tilt (hips on pillows, back of shoulders on the floor). I’ve also done a cow/cat which is just rocking pelvis and stretching back, but it does feel good. Also crawled around on the floor, and that also stretches back and loosens ligaments, as well as supposedly balancing uterus to help turn a baby…

      • lisasff says:

        Nina wrote: “At the very least the baby is having fun getting bounced around in there.”

        ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

        LOL! True!

Please Share Your Thoughts

