Whatever!

What to muse about today?

February 16, 2011

on February 16, 2011

Today I felt like a cow.  Tired of being pregnant, achy, uncomfortable.  My clothes don’t fit any more.  Overnight, they stopped fitting.  I’m not going to buy clothes I’m only going to wear for a month or so.  I’m tired of the swelling (yay for sock rings), the aches (lower and mid-back), pains, pressure, heartburn, cramps, Braxton Hicks, being out of breath.  Lightning pains.  Varicose veins, bleeding gums, runny nose.  Constipation.  Peeing 50 times a day.  Daily needles.  Insomnia.  Not being able to sleep on my back.  Stairs kill me.  Picking up Teagan hurts, feels like my insides are going to fall out.  It’s too early for them to fall out.  It’s too early to feel this bad.  The midwives say that second pregnancies are more uncomfortable.  Great.

The clothes are a bit worrying though.  I’ve actually lost weight this week, (yay me!), so it’s not that I’m growing out of them.  It has to be edema – swelling, fluid gain.  I don’t need another complication in this pregnancy.  There’s been enough already.

Tomorrow I find out if the baby is still breech.  I have a midwife appointment.  Although I’ve tried to do the exercises (yay for lying on the floor and getting out of breath!) as often as I can, I haven’t been able to do them every day.  There’s still time, that is, if the placenta moves.  Monday we have a scan to see how much it’s moved.  I hope it has.

Ok, enough wining about me.

Teagan was not a good sleeper last night.  I woke up around 4am, feeling crampy and achy.  Lower back ache.  Debated for a while if I should go down to the sofa, reposition (recline!) and try to distract from the icky feeling. 

Teagan decided that she was “all dun” sleeping and cried out, she wanted to eat.  No, she was wet.  No, stinky.  Bum!  She wasn’t.  I get her back down with a new pacifier (bubble!), covered her with a blankie, and went back to bed.  20 minutes later, she’s up again.  Wet.  Stinky.  Ok, I check again, her thin blanket is a bit wet, so off to the changing table we go.  Her diaper is wet, but not soaking.  Her pj’s were dry though.  Weird.  Back into bed, though she says “Eat, all dun.  Eat.  Wet.  Book.  Sit. Rock”  No baby, it’s bed time, back to sleep. 

Twenty minutes later, she’s up again.  Stu got up this time to settle her.  He closed the door, with the cat inside.  I get up to let the cat out.  He may have gotten up to her one more time before it was my turn again.  I may have dozed a bit.  Yay for me! 

So, I go to her, and still she’s saying “wet,” so I look around.  The front of her pj’s had a track down them.  She must have thrown up, just a little.  As I’m trying to get her to lie back down, she starts throwing up again.  Just a little.  I pick her up (ouch!) and rock her a bit, patting her on the back.  She snuggles in to my neck and appears to go back to sleep.  So back into her crib she goes. 

By now, it’s almost 6:30.  So when she wakes up (again!), I ask if she wants to come sleep in mama’s bed.  She nods.  So, back into bed we go.  She wants to pat dada, and give him a kiss.  No, sweetie, dada’s sleeping, ssshhhhh.  We need to sleep until the beep-beep-beep.  This works, she dozes for about 20 minutes and then wants to pet the cat, dada, go eat.

The alarm finally goes off.  Stu does not wake up.   Oops.  Teagan gives him a kiss.  Dada grunts, and rolls over.  He doesn’t feel well, but he gets up, gets her dressed and fed and takes her to day care.  I get to shower and drink my coffee, blearily, but calmly.

7 responses to “February 16, 2011

  1. Mags says:

    I bought some outsize shirts and a muimui like dress from a cheap store for the last couple of months/first post-natal weeks. The dress went to charity after but the shirts are likely to become DIY clothes.

    But that was the benefit of a summer baby – I wanted to wear as little as possible. maternity leggings and HUGE sweaters?

    • lisasff says:

      Yeah, I’ll have to go to Goodwill or some consignment store and get something. I know I won’t be able to live with the little that i have…

      Maternity sweaters? Ick. Do. Not. Want.

  2. lisasff says:

    Nina commented on your post.

    Nina wrote: “ahhhh. hope it gets better soon. these are the trying times.”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

    Nina, I hope so too. After yesterday, it can’t happen soon enough, but needs to wait long enough that there aren’t any premie issues :)

    • lisasff says:

      Nina commented on your post.

      Nina wrote: “Oh, after this there will be about 4 years of no sleep. Then the fighting years. Then moodiness. Then the Costly Years. Then u have a break before the grandkids and it starts all over ;)”

      ~*~*~*~*~~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

      Damn, and this first one was sleeping so well. This new one is getting hand-me-downs, so hopefully the costly years won’t be so bad :) College, well, that’s another thing.

      Once there’re grandkids, doesn’t it get easier? Sugar them up and hand them off??

      • lisasff says:

        Nina commented on your post.

        Nina wrote: “LOL Yes, they say grandkids are easier. They are the reward for having kids.”

        ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

        And a little torture along the way??

        • lisasff says:

          Nina commented on your post.

          Nina wrote: “Yes,definitely have to be rewarded for that!”
          ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

          Muahahahahahahha!

  3. lisasff says:

    Kat commented on your post.

    Kat wrote: “So sorry, hon. Hope today’s episode is much happier for all. Hope Teagan’s upchucking wasn’t anything serious.”
    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

    Kat, for Teagan, it seems that it wasn’t. She’s slept well the past two nights, though up about 20 minutes before we’re usually “ready” for her. LOL. I do like getting a bit of my coffee in before it’s her breakfast time.

    For me, it seems my symptoms were a sign… but everything’s ok, just a bit more real and immediate now.

Please Share Your Thoughts

