Whatever!

What to muse about today?

February 11, 2011

on February 11, 2011
Skittles

Skittles

So, yesterday we received a note from the mailman that we had a package from the UK waiting for us.  It needed a signature or something.  Stu picked it up this morning after he dropped off the piglet at day care.

Yay!  It was our Christmas package!!  Finally!  His mom posted it from the UK on December 8th.  It arrived here on February 9th.  Crazy!
Jelly Babies
Anyway, it had some lovely goodies for everyone inside.  Stu went nuts over the jelly babies and the other english candies.  He let me try one, it’s not bad.  Sort of like a swedish fish, but not quite.  Definitely not like gummy bears.  Better.  His mom also sent him a huge bag of PG Tips tea.  LOL.  I have a lovely box of After Eights.  Mmmm…  dark chocolate.  Also, a fantastic temperature converter for cooking and baking.  Will come in handy with Stu’s favorite recipes, which are in Celsius, not Fahrenheit.
 
We let Teagan open her two packages when she got home.  She LOVED opening them!  At Christmas, she wasn’t quite sure what to do with presents, but now, she knows.  And it’s fun.  She went over to Stu to open them with him.  One package was a rubber duck with a Union Jack on it.  Cool!  She immediately started chewing on it and asked for a bath.  The other was a set of “skittles,” a stuffed bowling pin set.  These also were a big hit.  She didn’t quite get the idea of rolling the ball to knock down the pins, but she would throw the ball down on them instead.  Works.  She then giggled maniacally.  I could not set the animal pins up fast enough, before she’d knock them down again.
 
She’s upstairs sleeping with two of the pins.  I think Stu got the rubber ducky away from her.
9 responses to “February 11, 2011

  1. lisasff says:

    I’ve been corrected. Stu said she went up with only one of the pins, (the monkey!), and he didn’t get the ducky away from her.

    When I put her sock on at 3am, I didn’t see the ducky, nor at 4 when I put her blankets back on. I did see the pin and the baby doll. She told me that the baby doll’s hat was a sock. She’s very silly at 3am.

  2. lisasff says:

    Vicky * commented on your post.

    Vicky wrote: “Mmmmm After Eights! We used to have them all the time when I was growing up in Bermuda.”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

    They are lovely! Better than the Andes Candies, that seem to always be just milk chocolate around here.

    • lisasff says:

      Vicky * commented on your post.

      Vicky wrote: “We used to be able to get the dark chocolate ones here but I haven’t seen them in forever.”

      ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

      Sometimes you can find them in the candy aisle in the grocery store. They aren’t always there… I seem to remember them being easier to find… Glad I got a box – though I may need to share a little with Stu… He’s sharing his candy with me :)

  3. Kate says:

    Yay for extended holidays, especially those with foreign treats! G got a stuffed grrranimals bowling set for Xmas and also had his own rules. He tosses the ball in one direction, away from the pins, then throws HIMSELF down on the pins. Giggles ensue.

  4. lisasff says:

    Emily Louise Banana commented on your post.

    Emily wrote: “Thats insane it took two months to get there -.- the cost of the postage was stupid as well x”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

    I’m just very glad it got here. If it hadn’t been delayed, we might have lost it in all the snow! Thank you!!

    • lisasff says:

      Vicky * commented on your post.

      Vicky wrote: “Customs is probably what took it so long. It probably arrived here in the US quite some time ago and then sat in the customs office. When my dad ships us things from Korea (even though the base post office), it can often take a month to get to us depending on what’s inside the box.”

      ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

      Vicky, you have a point. It could have been the tea, or the shape of the skittles pins… Not sure, but glad that it did take some extra time – though two months is a bit long. LOL – it might have gotten lost in all the snow that we got over Christmas and in the begining of January.

      • lisasff says:

        Emily Louise Banana commented on your post.

        Emily wrote: “Ah right thanks :)”

      • lisasff says:

        Vicky * commented on your post.

        Vicky wrote: “I’ll never forget when I was in college, my dad bought me a desktop stereo. I had to find a ride to the post office because I had to go there and pay duty tax on it. I was so frustrated because it wasn’t like I had the money…i was a poor college student! My dad had no way of knowing that it would cost me that much.”

        ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

        We didn’t owe any more on postage or duty tax, which was nice. I remember how the mail was when I was in Europe and got packages from home. LOVED getting them, but occasionally would need to pay a bit of duty tax on them. Hated that part.

Please Share Your Thoughts

