Whatever!

What to muse about today?

February 9, 2011

on February 9, 2011
Watermelons

Image via Wikipedia

Woman Births 13-Pound Baby, Still Not as Big as These Others.

OMFG.   Do NOT WANT.

I’m hoping our 93rd percentile baby decides to slow down her growth.  Stu hasn’t been very helpful “the doc did say +/- 15%, so she could be 108th percentile.”  Not funny.

So, this morning’s WILF episode (via google) is brought to you by macrosomia and quite possibly the promise of painkillers.

We know that I don’t have Gestational Diabetes, (passed that test – yay!), so it’s got to be something else.  Baby Center lists a few other possibilities.  Hispanic background?  Could be, though I’m not sure if I’m Latina enough that it would make a difference…  Maybe that’s something to ask the mid-wife.  I’m not obese, although I did start out a bit overweight.  Teagan was a peanut, so that shouldn’t be a reason.

It would be nice to know why this kid is looking like a watermelon instead of a peanut.

5 responses to “February 9, 2011

  1. lisasff says:

    Kat O* W* commented on your post.

    Kat wrote: “OUCH!!! and ouch again. 13#?? My first nephey weighed in @ 10# I think and that was something, I thought. However, granny used to say that my dad weighed 13# when he was born…but must have stopped growing pretty fast after that; he was only 5’2″ as an adult. LOL.. hopefully your +/-% will dwindle and not rise. :-)”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

    Kat, My fingers are totally crossed for that! I’m also very curious as to why we’re measuring so large, there doesn’t seem to be a reason. I’d like there to be a reason. :)

  2. Kate says:

    Oh geez, those doctors and the info they have to freak us out. Don’t let the % scare you. It WILL be okay, great even. The docs were way off on baby G (anecdata, I know, but still….) She will be great, and not a giant, and you can do this.

    • lisasff says:

      Yeah, and Dr. Google doesn’t help much either.  To be fair, they haven’t started any “OMG!  It’s YUGE, you’re deffo going to have a c-section now.”  It’s only been the mid-wife who mentioned that I shouldn’t gain any more weight – like I’m pigging out now.  I can barely eat half a meal now.

      Rationally, I do know she’s not going to be a giant – she doesn’t have the genes for it.  LOL! 

  3. lisasff says:

    Lori G* commented on your post.

    Lori wrote: “Corn syrup. It is in practically everything we Americans eat nowadays and it is making us fatter than ever.There’s your answer. LOL …”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

    I don’t know where she’s getting the HFCS or even the CS, we don’t have too much in the house. If she’s sneaking out and snacking on icecream and jelly sandwiches she’s in trouble!

    • lisasff says:

      Kat O* W* commented on your post.

      Kat wrote: “:-) must be that is why she’s turned wrong way. LOL”

      ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

      She’s GROUNDED!

      LOL

Please Share Your Thoughts

