Whatever!

What to muse about today?

February 2, 2011

on February 2, 2011

So, last night, (or early this morning,) was a lovely moment of motherhood fail.  Teagan woke up around 4:40am crying.  Usually all she needs is to have her blanket put back on and a new security pacifier (to go with the three she already has, but can’t find).  So, I go settle her, give her a quick rub on the back, tell her I love her and to go back to sleep.  Then head back to bed.  With a quick stop in the bathroom. 

Ah…  Bed.  Empty bladder.  No heartburn.  Sleep.  Heaven.

Just before 5:00am, she starts crying again.  As I had been in there a few minutes earlier, I was just going to let her go.  Stu will often sleep through.  Not this morning.  He did hear her, got up and headed to her room.  I called out as he left our room that I had been in to her about 15 minutes earlier, and that she was just fine, probably lost the bubble (pacifier) I gave her and needed another one.  

Stu gets there and yells for help.  I jump out of bed, totally freaked, head towards her room.  She had been fine just a few minutes earlier.  I swear!  He had given her an extra check, as she was saying over and over “wet.”  At first he wasn’t sure if her diaper had leaked, but it turns out she had thrown up in her bed.  Great.  How did I miss that??  How horrible to I feel now?  <sigh>

He dealt with the piglet and I took care of the crib – took the top sheet and protector off her crib.  (Yes, we double sheet/protector the mattress.  It totally came in handy).

She asked for a book, but Stu put her to bed again.  I ended up not being able to fall back to sleep.  She coughed a few times in her sleep.  My ears twitched every time, but she never called out, never cried again.

She ended up sleeping until 9:25am.  Woke up starving.  After a breakfast of toast and a clementine, we bundled her up for day care.  Stu and the piglet headed out, but came back in about 20 minutes later.  Ice.  The car got stuck in the snow bank at the bottom of the driveway.  But that’s another story.

One response to “February 2, 2011

  1. lisasff says:

    Colleen D* G* commented on your post.

    Colleen wrote: “glad she is okay.. I remember the NOT getting back to sleep as everything little noise.. especially when they are sick..”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

    Yeah, I tried falling asleep for about 40 minutes, then went downstairs to listen to the news. The almost sure-fire cure for the pregnancy insomnia. Before then, I jumped at every sound she made… After then, every time the lights moved on her monitor. Thankfully, she was just fine today, though picky about dinner.

Please Share Your Thoughts

