Whatever!

What to muse about today?

January 24, 2011

on January 24, 2011
Profile @ 29 weeks

Profile @ 29 weeks

So, I had a growth scan this morning.  To see if this little girl is still freakishly large.  Also to see how the placenta previa is progressing.

Yes, she is still freakishly large.   Like last scan, measuring in the 93rd percentile (approximately 2-3 weeks ahead).  Her older sister also gave us a little scare about being big.  Only once!  But she ended up being a tiny little peanut.  Peanuts are good.  Watermelons, less so. 

Pinchable Cheeks

Pinchable Cheeks

They did try to make me feel better, saying that the estimates could be 15% off.  That still leaves a large baby, just more naturally so.

Even with her being terrifyingly large, she’s got awesome cheeks.  Don’t you want to pinch them?  <pinch, pinch, pinch!>

The placenta is still a partial previa, like last time.  It hasn’t resolved as much as they’d like, but they still aren’t worried.  There’s more than enough time to have it resolve. 

There isn’t necessarily a guaranteed c-section in my future.  Though there is still a chance.  Even if the placenta doesn’t completely resolve, if it  moves enough, they will still allow me to attempt to go vaginally.  They’d rather me not have surgery, especially with my history.  Yay for clots and DVT’s.  So, it may be a good thing, but with her size, may not. 

Foot
Foot!

The tech and the doctor were very pleased with how she looked.  She’s currently feet down, but transverse.  Head on the right, back running along the bottom of my ribs. 

Kick!

Kick!

Anyway, she played more nicely than last month’s high-risk doctor visit.  Although she was    

busy, she paused enough for the measurements and some good pictures.  I got some nice shots of her profile, her cheeks, and feet.  Also, one of her kicking my cervix.  She’s already starting trouble!  Well continuing.

7 responses to “January 24, 2011

  1. lisasff says:

    Colleen D* G* commented on your post.

    Colleen wrote: “cute.. always try to read what you write.. it is all good.. when are you due again?? keep up the good work..”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

    Thanks. Sometimes I wonder if anyone enjoys what I write, so it’s nice for the feedback. Most times I do the entries for myself, and then hope that others read and find it interesting…

    Due date is Tax Day :D Just around the corner now!

  2. Kris A says:

    Since she is transverse, that might explain why you feel bigger this time around.

    • lisasff says:

      Yeah, it could be… or that she’s just freakishly large. She’s measuring at least two weeks ahead.

      At least I know that it’s her head that’s giving me a sore spot up by my ribs, for now. For all I know, she’s spun around again, which is a funky feeling…

  3. Kris A says:

    She also could be kicking around your hip, which could explain some of your pain. Had to marry a soccer player….

  4. lisasff says:

    Kat O* W* commented on your post.

    Kat wrote: “Wow…not long now. And I too like what you write…don’t always get to read it the day you post it, but try to go back when I can.”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~
    Nope! Not too much longer, though at times it seems like forever :)

    Thanks for the encouraging words. It is nice to know that people do enjoy (and read!) what I put out there. It’s a bit different than the 360 days, but in a good way :)

  5. […] placenta previa, and a clotting disorder.   Blood pressure was good, everything else was good.  Baby is still breech – footling breech.  So, she gave me exercises to do to try to turn the baby. […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

