Whatever!

What to muse about today?

January 20, 2011

on January 20, 2011
Snowflake. Small microscope kept outdoors. Sna...

Image via Wikipedia

The snow hasn’t started.  I’m sure it will soon.  The question is whether I’ll be awake to see it or not. 

With all the roof collapses locally, I am getting very worried about our roof.  The weight of all the snow and ice we have on the roof just can’t be good.  We had a spot in the kitchen that got wet during the ice storm, but I couldn’t find where it started.  It was in what I’m assuming is an extension, and you can’t get into the attic space there to see how the shingles and plywood are holding up.  We also should check out the main attic to see if there’s any buckling or bending of the plywood there.

For the record, you can order a roof rake on Amazon.com.  Maybe tomorrow, after the additional 6-8 inches of snow we’re expecting, I’ll order one from there.  It’s impossible to find one locally.

Not sure how much it will help with the cold weather we’ve had anyway.  From what I remember of the winters growing up, they really only work on the fresh snow.  The ice we have on top of just too much snow will be too hard to use it with.

 Anyway.  Teagan seems to be refining her musical taste.  Tonight, Stu said she absolutely flipped over Katy Perry’s song about Peacocks…  Last week, it was Pitbull‘s “I Know You Want Me.”  LOL.  Both are a bit inappropriate for a 20 month old.  Still.  Some could consider them better than “Row, Row, Row Your Boat.”  She also likes Elvis Costello‘s “Oliver’s Army.”  I should start a list.

4 responses to “January 20, 2011

  1. Kris A says:

    You could probably find a contractor who would be willing to shovel the roof. Rich has done that on our lower roofs in past years, though he gives me a heart attack when he does it. I keep joking that I’m going to strap his work computer to his back (he gets 6x salary if he dies on the job!) when he does it!!!

  2. lisasff says:

    Yeah, and you have crazy 3 story roofs too. I’ve been on our lower roof, and it’s not that bad… I may have Stu check that out. The upper roof, I don’t even know if my ladder is long enough to get up there. LOL! He said he’d go up into the attic today to see how the roof looks from the inside… if the plywood is bending or not. We’ll go from there.

    :)

    I don’t know if Stu would get 6x, but I know he’d get more if he was at work then not… hum….

  3. lisasff says:

    Lori G* commented on your post.

    Lori wrote: “A roof rake sounds like an excellent idea. And while Stu is doing that (what a picture that comes to mind :) try listening to “Rainbow Connection” by Jason Mraz with Teagan. And bring out Kermie…”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

    Stu raking the roof? He’s probably never done that before, so it could be very giggle inducing. I remember it being a PITA growing up, but then I also didn’t have upper body strength.

    I think we’ve tried Rainbow Connection with T before… she was unimpressed. I think it’s a bit too mellow.

    • lisasff says:

      Lori G* commented on your post.

      Lori wrote: “Yeah, that sweet little girl likes to boogie! : )”

      ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

      That she does!! Play ANYTHING with a good beat and she’ll boogie down!

Please Share Your Thoughts

