Whatever!

What to muse about today?

January 18, 2011

on January 18, 2011

So, today we got ice instead of snow.  Well, after about 4 inches more of snow, it changed to ice and sleet.  I only went outside to take a few pictures of the cherry tree covered in ice.  It was so pretty, sparkly.  I hope it doesn’t get too damaged by the weight of the ice. 

We have a ton of icicles hanging off the house – both roofs.  I didn’t get out enough to take a picture of them though!  Very, very slippery, and I’m oh-so-clumsy right now. 

Stu managed to get out this morning, dropped the piglet off at day care, came back and worked.  Shoveled the driveway a few times to keep up with the ice and snow mix.  He then headed out again to get more ice melt.  For me (I’m sure!)  So sweet. 

We didn’t get a car in the garage last night.  We had moved everything over to one side – his – before we left for PR.  Unfortunately, his car barely fits on my side with the freezer in the back.  He had to crawl over the bumper to get into the house.  My car is longer than his.  It won’t fit.  I’m not as agile as his is right now.  We haven’t had time to move everything to the other side yet to see if the car fits there.  It might make sense to put the freezer into the basement, to free up garage space, but it’s nothing we can even attempt to do right now.

We have a ton more room in the garage if we were able to get the new bathroom cabinet out.  We got it a few months back to go in the half bath.  We can’t move it into the house – I’m no help right now.  I had wanted to swap out the pedestal sink for the new half cabinet.  Something sturdier because of the clumsy toddler.  I’m worried that I might be the one to knock over the pedestal myself with my enormous  baby bump.

I feel so much bigger than last time, and I still have about 12 weeks left.  Ugh. 

At least I passed my Gestational Diabetes (1 hour) test, though my iron is low.  Easy enough to change with an iron supplement.

And this is going faster than I thought it would…  I’m already in my third trimester.  I’ve done 143 shots – with help!  There’s 80 days left!  Yikes.  I guess I better find a crib, huh?

PS.  We also have water dripping down the chimney, (fun!), and a slightly wet spot on the kitchen ceiling.  It’s not too big – yet – and hopefully it stays small and doesn’t amount to too much. 

Stu tried to get a roof/snow rake when he was out, but of course they were sold out.  We got a record amount of snow last week, and there’s more expected friday.  It’s not surprising that the stores can’t keep them in stock.  We’re going to need to do something about the icicles and snow.  Before we get more snow.

There’s been at least two trees that have fallen down out back, but they were after it got dark, so we only heard them.  Roads are flooded and power lines are down all over.  I’m hoping we keep power, that the trees decide to be far from the house when they fall…

9 responses to “January 18, 2011

  1. Kate says:

    Ice was crazy today! Congrats on your diabetes pass! I failed my first and had to do the 3 hour. And while I know it’s not this easy, part of me sorta wished I would have had a low iron reading since I was looking for a way to rationalize more burgers. ;^) I’m guessing you are on the lookout for an honest to goodness crib, but if you need a bassinet we do still have ours hanging out. And no rush, if you do outgrow the bassinet, you can always go pack & play for a while.

    • lisasff says:

      Happy Birthday!!

      It was so pretty this morning, but I was too much of a wimp to go out and take pictures. Worked from home today.

      Thanks! I seem to be one of the few that actually passes the 1 hour. I am SO GLAD I didn’t need to attempt the three hour. I can’t imagine.

      And, we might just need to borrow that bassinet…

      BTW, do we need to rationalize burgers? Or oranges? Or peanutbutter cups?

  2. Kris A says:

    Be careful with that little leak. Ice can dam up under your shingles, especially with all the snow. We had a leak a few years backafter 18 in. of snow because the snow would melt just a bit from the heat of the house and then refreeze. Then we got a leak. Contractor told us we were lucky to call him early to remove the snow and replace one shingle. Thank goodness this isn’t around your due date!!

    • lisasff says:

      Yeah. Stu’s working from home tomrrow, so I’ll have him check it out. After all our snow and then the ice/sleet mix we got yesterday, I’m not too surprised there’s something. I might have him check the attic as well… House has done well with LOTS of rain before… just not record-breaking snow followed by ice….

      We have to touch up the ceiling – stupid popcorn ceiling – in the kitchen now :(

      There has to be a snow rake somewhere in the state. It’s crazy!!

  3. lisasff says:

    Kat O* W* commented on your post.

    Kat wrote: “ah ….more ice & snow. Sorry…..it did rain here today, but the sun came out this afternoon. Sure glad…headache from…..”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

    Yes. More ice and snow. With more to come Friday. It’s fun… I get to watch and drink hot cocoa though… and attempt to go out and take pictures :)

    Rain? In warmer weather, I hope!

    Hope that headache is better!

  4. Kris A says:

    Have you tried looking online for a rake? I can’t imagine there are any left in New England after the past month!

    • lisasff says:

      I had thought about hunting around a few sites, but just haven’t gotten my act together. Maybe I should “get off my butt” and order one that way. I wonder if Amazon.com would have one… hum…

  5. Superb website…

    […]always a big fan of linking to bloggers that I love but don’t get a lot of link love from[…]……

  6. Cheap Yankee Candles…

    […]here are some links to sites that we link to because we think they are worth visiting[…]…

Please Share Your Thoughts

