Whatever!

What to muse about today?

April 8, 2010

on April 8, 2010

So, my car finally broke down Tuesday.  On the highway.  The Merritt, specifically.  In the road.  Not on the shoulder.  Happy Happy. 

We had thought it was just the battery, as it was persnickety starting since our move Wednesday.  He got me a portable charger, so off to work I went.  I get about 3 miles from the office, and the airbag light goes on along with the ABS light.  Then the battery light.  I start losing power.  I’m in the left lane, passing fools who don’t know how to drive.  The fools don’t let me in.  I don’t have any signals, so they don’t know I want to go in, that I’m in trouble.  I eventually get over, but only have enough inertia to get ONE tire onto the shoulder, the rest of the car is still in the lane.  I didn’t make it to a grassy shoulder.  I don’t have any power to the car, so although the hazard lights are on, they aren’t working.  People like honking.

I’m so glad I didn’t have the baby in the car.

I call the insurance company, and they get a cop to push me off the road, and also a tow truck to take me to a repair shop.  I wait about 20 minutes for the cop to get there, and he gives me a push to the shoulder.  My brakes are acting funny, and I almost can’t stop the car.  Joy.

So, I get to sit on the side of the road (the shoulder now!) and wait for the tow.  People just zoom by.  I’m sure that at least 10 people I work with drove past me.  The only people that slowed to ask if I was ok were the highway workers that were cutting and trimming trees on the other side of the road. 

Stu did offer to come get me, but then we’d have to worry about how to get the car back, and work and meetings, and oh, just annoying things.  I was ok, off the road and heading to a building.  That might have wi-fi. 

Eventually the tow gets there and he takes me to the repair shop.  Then there was more waiting.  Two hours of waiting.  My car is finally up, and they come out and say that they can’t do anything with the dead battery.  They think it might be the alternator, but can’t find out until they charge the battery.  I ask if there’s a way to check with the portable charger or something, so they can start the work on actually FIXING the car instead of waiting around.  They end up figuring something out, and diagnose the bad alternator.  $700 and two hours later, I get my car back.  They did at least wash it too, and reset the clock.  LOL.

I do have to admit, it’s nice to have a working car again, and have the entire day be over.  I’d like to never have that happen again.

One response to “April 8, 2010

  1. Tom Poalinelli says:

    Bummer. Been there and done that but a long time ago. Glad it’s fixed.

Please Share Your Thoughts

