Whatever!

What to muse about today?

December 19, 2009

on December 19, 2009

So, I’ve been meaning to write up a new blog entry, but somehow never seem to find the time.  Then there’s the immobility behind actually writing something, that gets bigger and bigger each day.  Then I end up not actually writing the entry.  Repeat cycle. 

So.  I’m doing it, sitting in bed, with my hubby, while my Sister-in-Law sleeps on the sofa.  Mother-in-Law is in the guest room.  They arrived yesterday, even with all the snow in the UK and the soon to be snow here.  They haven’t been able to get over to see Teagan until now.  It’s fun. 

Anyway…  bullets to catch up!

  1. This made me sad.  So much history, culture gone.  Sort of the same as Route 66 going away too.  The trip to then Leningrad on the train from Moscow was one of the highlights of my past.  Taking a sleeper car to Rome from Toulouse was another.  I’ve never been on the Orient Express, though I wanted to.  I don’t think any of my trips counted as being on that line.  I probably never would have had the chance, even if it hadn’t gone the way of the dinosaur.  It feels like we lost something important.
  2. This made me go “huh? WTF?!?!?!?!?!!?” and then laugh a little.  I thought the article might have been making it up until I saw it myself on TV.  Stu said he didn’t want to spoil the surprise, but he also scheduled my mammogram.  I’m hoping he found a place that will read lactating breast images :D
  3. I really like the MamaPop site.  Bunch of interesting blog writers writing about current events, with attitude :)
  4. 1,000 Awesome Things.  The site name just says it all.  Interesting site, a visit always leaves a smile on my face.
  5. Ear infections suck.  Double ear infections 10,000 times worse.  I suppose this should be higher on the list, but I’m trying to forget.    Teagan doesn’t seem to do well with ear aches.  We did 10 days of Amoxicillin, went for the follow-up, only to be told that her ears were filling up again, and we needed to do a second round of antibiotics.  Welcome Augmentin.  I need to put some food coloring in it or something, it’s a pain to fill the syringe thanks to the creamy whiteness.  Although she doesn’t seem to like it as much as the Amoxicillin, she does ok with her doses.  I love shoving the syringe into the side of her mouth twice a day.    Poor kid.  She needs a non-medicated break.  The doctor we saw for the follow-up didn’t mention anything about tubes, which was nice – the first doctor did though :(  THis is the second ear infection (double trouble even!) in her now seven months.  Not that bad considering she’s been in day care for four of them.
  6. I’ve been able, more or less, to keep up with Teagan’s breast milk needs, though pumping has become less and less enjoyable (like it ever was!!).  She also is less frustrated while nursing, which is good, although she’s still incredibly distracted.  Food, so far, hasn’t completely ruined our nursing relationship.  It’s still there.  I do know that it will end – it does have to – but the little blip we’ve had recently made me realize I wasn’t quite ready for it to be over yet.  I will miss her little hand reaching around and gently hugging my back as she nurses, the free hand grabbing my finger, hair, necklace, whatever.  The little puppy whimpers and cries when we switch sides and I’m not fast enough.  The way her eyes flutter and roll with pleasure at the beginning as hunger begins to retreat.  The way she stops and smiles up at me and then dives in for more.  Even the way she’ll try to talk around my nipple after she’s had her full but doesn’t want to pull away.    It’s little gestures like that I’ll miss terribly.
  7. Thanksgiving was fun!  Teagan tried grabbing the turkey during the pictures…  I need to see if I can get a copy of one of those pics :D
  8. Teagan is SEVEN. MONTHS. OLD!  Wow.  Where has the time gone?!?!?
  9. I need to finish Christmas Shopping.  <sigh>  Where has the time gone?!?!?!?!?
  10. I can’t remember the rest of the stuff I wanted to write about…  I’m going to bed!

:)

3 responses to “December 19, 2009

  1. lisasff says:

    Lori G* commented on your note “December 19, 2009”:

    “Thanks for the update. Glad to hear the Brittish side of the family has arrived to enjoy the deliciousness of that sweet little girl : )
    Interesting way to describe breast feeding, Lisa. So sweet. I can understand why you will miss it so one day.”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~
    Lori, things are going well, though I don’t seem to have any free time. I can’t sleep tonight, could be because the piglet isn’t doing so well. I think the augmentin is doing her in. One good thing, she’s nursing a bit more often, so I get more of the good and happy, heart-warming things. I just wish she was doing better.

  2. lisasff says:

    Saundra D*B* commented on your note “December 19, 2009”:

    “beautiful!”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

    Thanks. You know nursing is something special. It’s going to be something I miss, so I’m trying to enjoy as much as I can now :)

  3. lisasff says:

    Kat O*S*W* commented on your note “December 19, 2009”:

    “lovely entry. I too enjoyed your description of breast feeding. Such a closeness that bonds forever. {{{{{{{{lisa}}}}”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~
    Thanks Kat, I think the words pale to the actuality. Nice to know that you think I got close :)

Please Share Your Thoughts

