Whatever!

What to muse about today?

November 11, 2009

on November 11, 2009

We’re going to be flying soon.  On a plane.  With a baby.  OMG.  We’ll be *those* people on a plane…  the ones that you look at and hope aren’t going to be sitting by you, that you wish weren’t going to be on your flight.  With a baby.  You pray that the baby doesn’t cry and scream but sleeps the entire flight.  I hope that we aren’t going to be those people…  the  kind of people that everyone hates on sight.  I hope that Teagan won’t be that baby.

I’m also worried how we’ll manage all her stuff – my god, the stuff – as well as ours.  We dont need to bring a car seat, there’ll be one waiting there for us.  But that means that we have to have her sit on our laps the entire flight.  We wouldn’t have the opportunity to maybe put her in her seat in flight.  The car seat is also so heavy now (she is a piglet after all!), that we’d need the stroller frame, but she loves sitting up watching the world now, so I was planning on bringing the umbrella stroller. 

Then there’s food.  She’s eating a little food.  Do I bring that too?  Will I get hauled away by security because I poured out three portions of rice cereal and it looks like a white powder?  How much liquid is she allowed?  How much breast milk would be too much?  How will I keep it cold enough?

Advise from the doctor, (among others), is to see how she handles it.  To nurse on takeoff and landing.  To bring a pacifier.  To bring toys.  If she doesn’t do well, than maybe give her Benadryl to put her out. 

This would be the first time that we would consciously choose to drug our daughter for better behavior.  Not just to ease pain (stop her from crying all night) from teething.  I’m not sure if I like that idea or not.  I do know that I don’t want to be *those* people.

Anyway, I know I can get food down there, get anything I forget to pack, replace anything that gets puked on.  I really don’t need to stress about it.  I should be more concerned about how both my hubby and daughter, with their pale pasty skin, will survive the Caribbean sun :)  Though if the weather reports are to be trusted, that might be a non-issue as well.

Anyway, I just need her birth certificate, my driver’s licence, Stu’s passport and resident card, the boarding passes and we’ll be good enough to go!

On that note, I’m off to bed, but will leave you with the joy of green beans!

Green Beans!

 

4 responses to “November 11, 2009

  1. lisasff says:

    Kat S-W* commented on your note “November 11, 2009”:

    “It will be fine….happy traveling. Where to?”

    ~*~*~*~*~*
    We’re going to Puerto Rico, yay! The main reason is a memorial service for my grandmother (sniff) but hope to get some fun stuff in as well!

    I’ll be packing some Benadryl, just in case! LOL! I do think she’ll be ok for the most part… unless I just jinxed myself…

  2. Tom Poalinelli says:

    Well, *those* people can be nerve racking I must admit, but any traveler that doesn’t bring an Ipod, or some sort listening devise, deserves what they get.

    On the Benadryl issue, I’m with you on not wanting to drug a child for behavioral reasons but it’s not like she’s being willfully disobedient. She’s just being a baby and babies cry when they are uncomfortable. I personally wouldn’t want to get into the habit of giving my child a Benadryl to put her out every time she cried but I also wouldn’t have any issue with giving it to her for the flight if my doctor thought it was OK.

    Just my two cents as a non- parent and previously frequent flier.

    • lisasff says:

      I hadn’t thought about others bringing a MP3 player with them, and being responsible for what they chose to hear or not hear. I would do that all the time too, to shut out the rest of the world.

      We will be bringing the Benadryl, just in case :D

  3. jane mcgregor says:

    YOU take the benedryl, too! We were a militery family, and using benedryl was perscribed/used for international flights as well as within the states, and it was soothingly receptive everytime. And the umbrella stroller is a good idea, but you can pick up one cheap at your destination—ask a relative to oblige. Bottle fed with formula? Add rice cereal and shake with liquid benedryl.Call your airline ahead with your concerns; they may have better suggestions.They want it to be a pleasant flight for you.Bon Voyage!

Please Share Your Thoughts

