Whatever!

What to muse about today?

October 29, 2009

on October 29, 2009

I hate the dentist.  Can I say that?  I’ve had conversations with my dentist about how I hate sitting in the chair being poked and scraped and prodded.  About how I LOVE the way my teeth feel when they’re done, cleanings are soooo worth it. 

Fillings on the other hand.  Well, they’re worth it too, but they’re a thousand times worse.  Filled with anxiety, unease, unfounded fear.  I don’t sleep well before fillings.  I’ll get the Ren & Stimpy “Root Beaver” stinky gum holes nightmare or dreams of Steve Martin as the dentist from Little Shop of Horrors and I’m Bill Murray.  I’ll dream that all my teeth are falling out or are made of glass and just shatter.  My dentist hasn’t seen Ren & Stimpy but she does know about Steve Martin. It makes her laugh.  :o

Can you tell I had a dentist appointment today?  For a filling? 

My dentist is actually pretty cool.  She tries to make cleanings and other work as painless as possible.  She has massaging chairs, movies with headphones, paraffin hand treatments.  She will give you gas if you ask.  She has sonic drills and that cleaner-scraper thing.  She will prescribe Valium if you are really that anxious about being there.  I am.  I’ll admit it.  Valium before the appointment – only fillings, not cleanings! – helps me tremendously.

I took one today.  (It’s supposed tobe a “not bad once in a while while breastfeeding, but don’t take it all the time that would be bad” drug).

I’m glad I did.  The filling I needed done was a small one, barely a cavity.  She wanted to get it before it became an issue, before it grew.  Ok.  I’m all for less drilling, less jamming filling stuff in the hole, less pain. 

Afterward, however, the fun started.  (Yes, that is sarcasm).  She said that she had reviewed my x-rays, (she wasn’t there during the cleaning), and said that I need a crown.  Other than my wisdom teeth extraction, this will be my first “major” work.  I have no idea how I’ll be able to deal with that.  Supposedly, it will be better than some of the fillings I’ve had replaced – less drill time, not as deep, not as painful.  Yeah.  I don’t know if I believe her.  I wonder if I can be knocked out?

 ren & stimpy - oh joy

~*~*~*~*~*~

PS.  I seem to have already spoken of my dentist, Steve Martin and the Root Beaver…  here

5 responses to “October 29, 2009

  1. Stu says:

    Don’t ever watch the movie “Marathon Man.”

  2. Terri says:

    A crown is nothing, Lisa. I have a couple of them and they aren’t bad. Good luck!

    • lisasff says:

      Terri, I’m hoping that’s true! I’ve never been good with the dentist, or any work. She assured me that it’s better than some of the fillings I’ve had replaced. Fingers crossed she’s right!! :)

Please Share Your Thoughts

