Whatever!

What to muse about today?

October 24, 2009

on October 24, 2009

sadness walking

Just a few quiet and rainy moments to reflect about this morning…  week.  Everyone else in the house seems to be napping, just gathering strength before we go and start the big decoration for tomorrow.  Tomorrow will be to celebrate, today to reflect.

I went to a funeral this morning for the husband of a co-worker, a friend.  He died suddenly, tragically.  They have a three-year-old son, one that was a long time coming and much wanted.  They were a happy family.  She kept trying to fix me up with one of her husband’s friends, and was so happy when I found my import.  I would bump into them in the grocery store, around town before they moved closer to work.  Just very good people, people who absolutely did not deserve this to happen to them.

I can’t even fathom what she is going through.  I don’t want to.  I was so amazed at her strength today, her composure… the beautiful letter full of happy memories she wrote that her sister read… how she’s even keeping it together.  I guess being in full view of an entire community helps, of knowing that everyone is watching you to see how you are doing.  I don’t ever want to find out though.  My heart aches just thinking about it.

The funeral was so very sad.  Probably the most unwanted and unwelcome I’ve ever been to.  The one that brings home with a crash how fragile everything is.  How dear.  It was also probably the best attended.  The church was full, barely an empty seat to be had.  Two hundred people were in attendance for this family, these friends, maybe more.  Just pulls at your heart.  Makes you feel better for the world, in a way.

Hug your husbands or wives, snuggle your children.  Tell them you love them.  Cherish them.

Please Share Your Thoughts

