Whatever!

What to muse about today?

July 30, 2007

on July 30, 2007

Yay! He’s here. Just nice to have him back. Also nice to know that we’re not the only ones that had trouble… I feel sorry for these people, though I know what they’re going/gone through.

Truth, love stymied by immigration naiveté: “On the same day that congressional cowards voted down the latest stab at immigration reform in Washington, Christopher Lewis got some bizarre advice from a staffer at the U.S. Consulate in Toronto. She told the businessman from Fort Collins that the best way to get his British wife into the U.S. was to smuggle her across the border. ” <snip>

He was so naive he thought it would be better to get his wife here legally. Silly man. <snip>

“It took me forever to figure it out, but I was under the impression I was following all the rules,” said Lewis, who filed the I-45, I-325, I-765, I-130 and I-131 forms. They paid $1,300 in fees and received a receipt from U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services. <snip>

Maria Elena Upson, spokeswoman for USCIS in Dallas, said the couple should not have left the country without telling immigration. “If you file for someone to get permanent residency, you cannot depart the U.S. without proper permission,” she said. “That is defrauding the government because the minute the husband petitioned for her residency, she was no longer a visitor. Her intention was to live and work in this country.”

This also made me laugh today:

4 responses to “July 30, 2007

  1. Kell says:

    Well… yay for you guys!

  2. Lisa_SFF says:

    Thanks :)

  3. Netty says:

    Okay OMG I didn't realize he was HERE already!!!YAYYY!!!!! Welcome STU!!! SMOOCHES!
    And OMG I had heard about that video and that WAS friggin funny!

  4. Lisa_SFF says:

    Yeah, wasn't that funny??

    He's been here since SATURDAY, and he's been put to work already :) Such a sweetie he is.

Please Share Your Thoughts

