Whatever!

What to muse about today?

January 29, 2007

on January 29, 2007

goya - sleep reason

To sleep, perchance to dream. To quote a BNL song, “Who needs sleep?” Well, we all do. Today, Yahoo gave me a list of foods that are supposed to help you sleep. Very nice of them, knowing that I haven’t been sleeping well lately… That even with increased intake of vitamin B’s, I still seem to loose consciousness on the sofa at “too-early” times each night. (Last night was an aberration, I can’t believe I slept there all night, waking up naturally by 7am)!

The article from here is below (as it will probably disappear, annoyingly,) with my comments interspersed, because it’s fun:

 

Top 10 Foods for a Good Night’s Sleep

Posted Tue, Jan 23, 2007, 6:32 pm PST  

 

What is the secret to getting a solid 7 to 8 hours of sleep? Head for the kitchen and enjoy one or two of these 10 foods. They relax tense muscles, quiet buzzing minds, and/or get calming, sleep-inducing hormones – serotonin and melatonin – flowing. Yawning yet?

Bananas. They’re practically a sleeping pill in a peel. In addition to a bit of soothing melatonin and serotonin, bananas contain magnesium, a muscle relaxant.

~ Yay! Bananas! I’m totally excited that they are listed first. Love bananas!

Chamomile tea. The reason chamomile is such a staple of bedtime tea blends is its mild sedating effect – it’s the perfect natural antidote for restless minds/bodies.

~ Ok. One of my favorite teas for late evening has chamomile in it. Granted, there’s also Valerian, but hey, it’s there!

Warm milk. It’s not a myth. Milk has some tryptophan – an amino acid that has a sedative – like effect – and calcium, which helps the brain use tryptophan. Plus there’s the psychological throw-back to infancy, when a warm bottle meant “relax, everything’s fine.”

~ Hum… maybe I should start buying milk again? I just have cream in the fridge for my coffee.

Honey. Drizzle a little in your warm milk or herb tea. Lots of sugar is stimulating, but a little glucose tells your brain to turn off orexin, a recently discovered neurotransmitter that’s linked to alertness.

~ Ok. I can start using the honey to sweeten that evening cup of Chamomile tea…

Potatoes. A small baked spud won’t overwhelm your GI tract, and it clears away acids that can interfere with yawn-inducing tryptophan. To up the soothing effects, mash it with warm milk.

~ No way I’m eating potatoes that late at night! I try to keep away from them, as they seem to migrate to my thighs <sigh> Maybe I could be persuaded with Mashed potatoes (with NO GRAVY!)
 
 Oatmeal. Oats are a rich source of sleep – inviting melatonin, and a small bowl of warm cereal with a splash of maple syrup is cozy – plus if you’ve got the munchies, it’s filling too.

~ This just seems like such a breakfast food to me. But maybe if the bananas, tea, milk and honey don’t work, I’ll try this…

Almonds. A handful of these heart-healthy nuts can be snooze-inducing, as they contain both tryptophan and a nice dose of muscle-relaxing magnesium.

~ Almonds are like turkey??? This could make my brain hurt.

Flaxseeds. When life goes awry and feeling down is keeping you up, try sprinkling 2 tablespoons of these healthy little seeds on your bedtime oatmeal. They’re rich in omega-3 fatty acids, a natural mood lifter.

~ Ok. Why would you even have flaxseeds in the house anyway? But mood lifters? Might be worth it then :)

Whole-wheat bread. A slice of toast with your tea and honey will release insulin, which helps tryptophan get to your brain, where it’s converted to serotonin and quietly murmurs “time to sleep.”

~ Tea and toast? What if you are trying to limit your carb intake, which is why you don’t eat those potatoes in the first place??

Turkey. It’s the most famous source of tryptophan, credited with all those Thanksgiving naps. But that’s actually modern folklore. Tryptophan works when your stomach’s basically empty, not overstuffed, and when there are some carbs around, not tons of protein. But put a lean slice or two on some whole-wheat bread mid-evening, and you’ve got one of the best sleep inducers in your kitchen.

~ Hum… they seem to have left the stuffing off this list… maybe if you make it with oats and whole-wheat bread?

~*~*~*~*~*~

 

There’s lots of web sites out there that have quotes on sleep. There are also lots of web sites out there that discuss sleep disorders and the necessity of sleeping – This one is sort of interesting… I like how they have quotes interspersed with the passages about drug-addicts having sleep disorders. It’s comforting to know that Meth addicts have the same sort of sleep problems I do :)

When you have problems sleeping, what do you do?

8 responses to “January 29, 2007

  1. n. says:

    i had 3 kids
    i sleep like a log usually

  2. EM says:

    Put my arm around you.

  3. Lisa_SFF says:

    Well, that does work. But works better if you're here.

    <sigh>

  4. Lisa_SFF says:

    Nina: I wish I was. Well, maybe without the three kids part… :)

  5. Netty says:

    If I am really having issues sleeping, I have to get out of bed or else it just gets worse. I go to the couch to sleep which sometimes helps, or at least go read or watch TV until tired enuf to actually sleep.

  6. Lisa_SFF says:

    I seem to have daily issues with sleep. If I force myself to stay awake too long, or more so, if I get too tired and haven't gotten to bed, my legs ache. A deep ache that then spreds to my arms. Like too much lactic acid or whatever. It's not really a RLS thing. Only thing to do is get to bed and go to sleep. Like I can actually sleep. <sigh>

  7. Kell says:

    I head for the ambien. I've read so many damn sleep things it's crazy. I now have a 3CD player on the shelf behind my bed that has a meditation CD, a selfhypnosis CD and a Delta wave sleep CD in it. I find the last works the best to keep me sleeping (well, sometimes with the help of a pill or three). I got it at Amazon. it's odd at first, but then I got used to it.
    As for the leg thing, I used to get that… deep deep ache that can't be relieved in many positions. My chiropractor is the one who helps the most with that one.
    Wish I had more answer Lisa. I'm probably in need of an anti-anxiety med to calm my brain down at night.
    As for the foods listed… blecch on most. I have flaxseeds though… just forget to use them. Inositol helps. OH yeah, I also take 3mg melatonin some nights to just be mellow-sleepy. it's a very peaceful feeling, not drugged.

  8. Lisa_SFF says:

    The only thing for the deep pain is to get to bed and try to sleep. I've never gone to a chiropractor, but a good massage helps too :)

    Anti-stress/anti-anxiety med might help too. I've been trying valerian/chamomile tea, when I remember, and am awake enough to make it and not break the stove, and that does help a bit… not quite enough, but a bit.

Please Share Your Thoughts

