Whatever!

What to muse about today?

November 13, 2006

on November 13, 2006
Lonely
It’s a week, today.  The house is not seeming any less empty.  The other two kitties haven’t stepped up yet to fill the hole that Phoebe has left, though it’s not their job.
 
It’s odd, that just one cat can have such a presence.  She wasn’t larger than life, but somehow her absence makes it seem that way.  Clio is still eager to have the lap to sit on, ‘bella still cries when she wakes up alone in a room, but I don’t have the door-greeter, the cheese-stealer, the peeper while I’m in the shower, the need to share the sink when I do dishes, brush my teeth, wash my hands.  No one sits and watches me in the morning (or afternoon) in the bathroom.  Ok, that bit, I don’t miss as much ;)
 
I know that eventually, her presence will diminish, be less strong, and the memories will allow this to soften.  That eventually, I won’t notice the lack of weight on the bed for just having the two there, or the little skirmishes to be the one in the best lap position.
 
I appreciate all your kind words, thoughts, love.  It is getting better, but it’s not better yet.
2 responses to “November 13, 2006

  1. Mali May says:

    That's so sad. Your kitties will have to come to terms with their missing companion too. Sasha was very lonely and very elusive after Nikki died. My new puppy hasn't exactly assumed Nikki's duties, but he certainly is a big distraction so we don't have much time to focus on Nikki's absence. Give yourself time to mourn Phoebe.

  2. Lisa_SFF says:

    Yeah. I know. I had a cat before Phoebe, Shadow, that I had to take to the vet as well. Phoebe was just 5 or so when that was, and she just cried and cried. She'd go to where Shadow would sleep and then run back to me, and cry so plaintively. These two are reacting differently. But they aren't left alone, like Phoebe was then… I got them after I stopped missing Shadow so much.

Please Share Your Thoughts

