Whatever!

What to muse about today?

October 16, 2006

on October 16, 2006

Post secret - subconsciously I narrate in british accent

Funny…  There does seem to be British accents everywhere!  They’re all around!!  Makes for interesting commentary :)

Having a blast!  Must remember the cask ales…  the bitters, that actually aren’t bitter… to look right before crossing the street… to ask for a “return”… to hope to see two magpies…  and play the “duck… not a duck” game as often as possible.

Lovely things, lovely times.

9 responses to “October 16, 2006

  1. unknown says:

    enjoy :D

  2. Mali May says:

    Teehee … sounds like you're having a grand time in jolly old.
    Duck, Not a duck? You're kidding!
    Safest to always look in all directions when in unknown territory. Down here too – never know where something's going to come at you from. Not like people pay that much attention to rules.

  3. EM says:

    You forgot "Humps for 50 Yards."

    We do dot some helpful things around to try to keep our visitors alive and well, but I'll let Lisa tell you about those.

    Not a duck!

  4. Kailahana says:

    Isn't it different to be in a place where everyone is speaking your launguage, but it sounds a bit off? Kind of like when I go to New England, heh heh. Sounds like you're having a lovely time. Don't forget to go back home :)

  5. Kell says:

    New Englanders speak English. It's those people in the south that are impossible to understand. I never knew what I was getting at a fast food restaurant.

    How was the flights and all? Did you sleep any or were you up the whole time from excitement?

  6. Tina says:

    Mind the Gap!

    I was so proud when I went over there, thought I was bilingual, till I needed to get Mumsie to translate something a guy said to me at Alnwick Castle. (after he said it three times – damn accent)

  7. Lisa_SFF says:

    It's been a blast so far… Didn't sleep too much on the plane, but that was ok, made the jet lag easier… I was telling Stu that it sounded like everyone was speaking French. The stresses and accents of the words are so different, that my brain just heard it as French, though couldn't translate well. By the third day, it started sounding more like English.

    Two of the "not ducks" were actually coonts (?) and moor hens. Funny feet on the last :)

    The tourist information people are wonderfully helpful here. Not like other places I've been, and I even found the windmill in town! Yes, Stu, there is a windmill :)

  8. EM says:

    Coots! Then English saying is "He's as bald as a Coot!" The Moorhens you got right though – with their bright green legs.

    And yes, Lisa now officially knows more about where I live than I do. "I saw the windmill." … "Ha. Very funny." … "I did!" … "There isn't a windmill." … [shows me picture of windmill] … "Oh."

  9. Lisa_SFF says:

    Although today we did reprise the "duck not a duck" game… we added to it with "not a cow!"

Please Share Your Thoughts

