Whatever!

What to muse about today?

April 06, 2006

on April 6, 2006
 

chicken

 
Ok.  I’m trying to be good.  Really, I am.  He’s in the kitchen now, cooking us dinner.  His night tonight, as I worked late, and at the office an hour away.  So, his turn.  It’s his kitchen.  Ok, I helped him where everything was – with a lovely glass of Pino Grigio – spices, measuring spoons, pans…  I thought I was being good not doing anything, just standing there.  Well, no, I guess not.  So, I went to the back room, so as to not be a back seat driver, er, cooker, er, chef.  It’s not easy letting go, and letting someone else do for you.  It is nice, but it’s not easy.  So, I did pick the recipe out – I knew I had everything for it.  We haven’t discussed menu plans or gone and done a thorough shop yet.   
 
I do know the meal will turn out ok.  He’s lived on his own for a while, and needed to cook for himself.  I have told him that it is nice, though I feel like I should be doing something.  Something other than read newsgroups and surf the web.  It is not easy to stand there and watch, not start to help or anything.  Even though it is nice, I did tease him a little about whether I’ll keep him or not…  It all depends on how the rice turns out if he can stay :o
 
Cross your fingers that the rice is good :)
 
5 responses to “April 06, 2006

  1. Kell says:

    I totally understand! It's very hard to allow someone to do for you. I find it isn't easy to let go of the controls when A: you're used to having to do it all for yourself and B: people you thought would be there for you didn't come through in the end. It's a tough lesson to learn. Drink the wine and let it happen.

  2. Lisa_SFF says:

    Yeah, the part A part is tough… I, fortunately, haven't had to deal with the part B part.

  3. EM says:

    Good news! The Rice was ok… The chicken was good and the sauce was tasty and should be even more so after a day or so to season, when we have the second half of the chicken. So I think I get to stay.

    I got through preparing dinner without burning myself, but then in a 'Final Destination-style' piece of pre-determination, the burn came during dinner, when one of the cats set itself on fire.

    I'm not joking.

    Thankfully the cat was fine and didn't even know what was going on, but I have a small burn in the crease of my thumb.

    So, coconut chicken, chat flambé and toasted thumb. An interesting menu, but tasty.

  4. Netty says:

    Lisa, I have a feeling the rice doesn't much matter (g) It could have tasted like shit on a shingle and you would have loved it (giggle).
    Glad it did turn out good though! Good stu hehehe

  5. Lisa_SFF says:

    Well, maybe, but don't let him know that… It is better that it was good though :)

Please Share Your Thoughts

