Whatever!

What to muse about today?

November 26, 2013 ~ Bork

on November 26, 2013
20131126-204131.jpg

Mid-conversion

So, I was working on trying to convert Ashlin’s onesies to t-shirts using Therapeutic Crafting’s instructions.  Starting with my least favorite top, I made the cuts  last night to get it all ready to try to do today during lunch.  I had a pile of other long sleeved onesies to follow if this went well.

So, I got a new bobbin wound, the machine threaded and I take my first passes on joining the original edging – “bias tape” – together using a zigzag stitch.  I laid the ends on top of each other and zoomed up the middle.  I pinned the bottom edge of the shirt to the tape, wrong side facing.  Started a zigzag from one side to the other.  It’s going pretty well, for the most part.  The seam was sort of straight, straight enough anyway.

20131126-204156.jpg

Sewn Together

Just as I get to the middle, where I joined the tape, the machine jams.  Gah!  I pull over the manual and read how to take the lower plate off and the bobbin casing.  I get that done, and then get the onesie unjamed and out.  Put it all back together and re-thread the bobbin again and try again, further away from any loose threads.  Jam.  Again.  Ugh.

Back through the process again, and this time, I try to use just a single layer of scrap material to see how it’s working.  No good.  Bobbin vomit, as I read on Google.  Super.

Anyway.  I’m not sure what to do now.  Any time I try to sew something the lower thread becomes this big knot, and I get a thread jam error on the screen.

Maybe it’s time to knit some new mittens.  At least for tonight.

20131126-204146.jpg

Not a good jam


4 responses to “November 26, 2013 ~ Bork

  1. Kat W says:

    :( Sorry….hope whatever is causing the jam will be an easy fix and the sewing can continue today. You sound as if you’re doing all things correctly…maybe the weight of the material vs the thread being used??? It’s been too long for me to really give any insight that might be useful. HAHA And the knitting probably was a good option to take. :)

    • lisasff says:

      Thanks!! I hope it’s an easy fix! I’ll go fiddle with it a bit more today. I think it has to do with the tension on the bottom thread… fingers crossed

  2. “bobbin vomit”
    Hahaha. I have been there before. Good luck figuring it out!

Please Share Your Thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 430 other followers

