Whatever!

What to muse about today?

February 22, 2012

on February 22, 2012

I totally jinxed myself yesterday.  It’s almost as if Ashlin heard me, read the entry about how well she’s been sleeping this week, and decided to totally throw it to all hell.  She was up every. two. and. a. half. hours.  It was like she was a newborn again.  <sigh>

Yesterday I was so tired, (even with the extra sleep), that my eyes felt like they were burning.  Today, they’re past that.  Dry and scratchy.  Blurry.  Heavy.

The girls were good when we got  home.  Mostly.  Ashlin did seem super tired, cranky.  As she should be, having been awake half the night.  We got them fed and I took Ashlin up while Teagan stayed downstairs with Stu and watched Cat in the Hat.  I almost fell asleep trying to rock Ashlin down for bed.  She just wanted to play with pull my hair.  Eventually I got her down, and tucked her in, started her glowworm and snuck out.

Just finishing up a bit of wwilfing and maybe some ice cream before going to an early bed.  Maybe not.  After almost 11 months of little sleep, in buckets of no more than four hours at a time, there are very little reserves.  I need to be able to function tomorrow.

I’m so tired.

I do know it will get better.  I just need want it to be better soon.

7 responses to “February 22, 2012

  1. Lori says:

    Lori G* commented on your post.

    Lori wrote: “Leave everything for tomorrow. Go to sleep while you can. Hugs …”

  2. Kris A says:

    I feel your pain. As I’ve told you, one reason I didn’t return to teaching was the fact that Thomas still wasn’t sleeping through the night at 18 mos. I was a walking zombie and was barely functioning at home, much less trying to teach. I hope she settles for you. Every kid is wired differently. Thomas still requires less sleep than kids his age. In terms of sleeping, if he had been my first, there might not have been a 2nd. He never in his life took 2 naps,even as a newborn and gave up naps entirely by 2.

    • lisasff says:

      Oh, I know we’ve been blessed with babies who, mostly, sleep. With Teagan, she would be hard to get down, but would stay down. Ashlin is usually easy to get to sleep, you can almost put her in the crib and walk away. She just doesn’t stay down. Well, not for long. And with the near-failure to thrive and need to feed her, she’s used to getting up and being fed. And we haven’t been able to work on it for dear of having Teagan wake up if Ashlin cries.

      Last night wasn’t too bad. Ashlin slept for about 4.5 hours between wakings. Not too bad. Almost restful.

  3. […] February 22, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) Share this:StumbleUponDiggRedditTwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  4. […] February 22, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) Share this:StumbleUponDiggRedditTwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  5. […] February 22, 2012 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 432 other followers

