Whatever!

What to muse about today?

January 2, 2012

on January 2, 2012
Tortilla Espanola and Pan con Tomate - Bebida

Image by avlxyz via Flickr

All I wanted to do was make dinner.  A dinner that the four of us would sit down and eat.  That’s all.  Not too much to ask for.  And it wasn’t even a complicated dinner at that.  Just a spanish omelet.

Crap.  There she is again…

Needless to say the girls, both of them, didn’t let me make dinner.

Ashlin just woudn’t settle for Stu, only me.  Those damn teeth aren’t through yet.  She didn’t sleep well last night either, though she did give me a three hour stretch.  The rest of the night seemed to be 45 minute bits, between rocking, re-swaddling (yes, we’ve been swaddling her.  again!), and general butt patting.

Teagan was, well, herself in all her over-tired and out-of-routine glory.Her listening ears were very scarce.  Though there were times when she was an absolute doll – doing puzzles for almost an hour in the playroom.  She loved the new puzzles we got from Wendy.  (Thanks Aunt Wendy!!).  But there were times she was just a beast.

All day the two of them tag-teamed.  First one, then the other.  When one was napping, the other was awake wanting to eat, or go potty, or nurse, or try to crawl.  You know, stuff you just can’t ignore.  And then vice-versa.  Sigh.  And to top it off, Teagan seems to be fighting off some sort of stomach bug, one that makes her butt explode.  Big poopies!! Double marshmallow earning poopies.  She complained about her belly hurting, which usually means she’s hungry, as well as her butt hurting, which up till today meant she was a bit constipated.  Poor kid.

And Stu was fighting off a migraine.

And I lost my patience.

So, dinner got started and stopped, taken off the stove and restarted, at least four times.

I was able to finish dinner four hours after starting.  Sigh.  It really should have taken only 30 minutes.  Total.

Some days, I don’t know why I even try.  I should just go to bed.  I have a feeling I’ll be on call in an hour.

Sigh.


17 responses to “January 2, 2012

  1. Barbara says:

    Barbara P* H* commented on your post.

    Barbara wrote: “Don’t be silly. You have 2 tiddler’s.

    • Barbara says:

      Barbara wrote: “Foo”

    • lisasff says:

      Doh! And thanks. Some days are much harder than others. I’m sure that I would probably have responded better, been better, if I had had more sleep these past two nights. Heck, these past few months. I hate to say that I’m looking forward to sending Teagan – who hopefully will be over her tummy bug – to day care tomorrow. I’m sure that makes me a wonderful parent. Sigh.

  2. Graciela says:

    Graciela S* commented on your post.

    Graciela wrote: “We all have this thought at some point or another, especially after a long vacation. Don’t worry, you are not a bad parent…you are human”

    • lisasff says:

      Yeah. Sometimes after long weekends, it’s hard not to dream about day care. Heh.

      Though, just one – well rested – isn’t too bad. Two, tired and one of the two teething? Hell on earth.

      • Graciela says:

        Graciela wrote: “Got to agree.”

        • lisasff says:

          But you. With three! How are you still sane? You ARE still sane?

          • Graciela says:

            Graciela wrote: “A little glass of wine goes a long way, especially when my 3 year old does not sleep well still and refuses to be potty trained I swear she’s going to learn how to read before she learns to use the bathroom. Not even bribery works. “

            • lisasff says:

              Mmmmm…. I do have a beer (yay me!) on an evening… Maybe more than I should. But always after the two are in bed and asleep, for the time being anyway.

              My 2.5 year old is doing pretty well with the potty training. Thankfully, marshmallows are a wonderful bribe for her.

              I’m sure your little one will get there! She’ll eventually be tired of being wet and poopy. She won’t be going to college wearing a diaper!

              • Graciela says:

                Graciela wrote: “I figure there is always Depend”

                • lisasff says:

                  The embarrassment of Depends as a freshman may be the incentive she needs. LOL!

                  Hopefully, she’ll change her mind soon!

                  • Graciela says:

                    Graciela wrote: “From your mouth to God’s ears. Good luck with your beauties. They are great despite everything we say. Happy new year to you and your family “

                    • lisasff says:

                      Thank you! Good luck with your gorgeous ones too! Your little one will get there.

                      Happy New Year!!

  3. Kris A says:

    We’ve all been there. I shed more than a few tears at my inability to do a load of wash and cook a meal in a 12 hour period!!

    • lisasff says:

      It’s crazy!! I knew it would be rough, but with Teagan was always able to get something done. Not a lot, but something. Two is for serious problems trying to achieve ANYTHING. Even with two people there!

Please Share Your Thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 424 other followers

