Whatever!

What to muse about today?

September 8, 2011

on September 8, 2011

Where am I?

The day started off ok – well, ok enough for a first day back at work.  Up early to shower and get dressed, then downstairs to the coffee my husband made me.  A moment with e-mail and news to enjoy the coffee.  Back up to dry my hair and finish getting ready.

The babies cooperated as well.  Ashlin was quietly waiting for me to go get her out of her crib to nurse.  What a huge smile she gave me when she finally noticed me peeking over the crib.  Almost made me forget about the screaming and crying at 2:30am.  She was a hungry baby!

Stu came up after a bit to wake Teagan up.  She woke up in a sweet mood too.  So nice when she does, makes you want to play with her all day when she’s cute and sweet like that.  She asked for two piggy tails, please.  Sure thing, sweetness!

Kiss please, mommy!

I comb Teagan’s hair while Stu brings all the bags (OMG!  So many bags!) out to the car.  He was working from home thanks to early conference calls and training, so I was the one to take the girls to day care.

Teagan was a big help too, she carried in Ashlin’s bottles of milk, and held my hand, while I had the baby in the infant seat and her bag of diapers, wipes and clothes.  I forgot how much stuff you need to bring to day care for a little baby.

First Day

I leave Ashlin and all her stuff by the door to the infant room and walk Teagan to her section of the big room – the big Two’s!  So exciting that mommy is dropping her off.  She has to tell everyone that I’m her mommy – “My mommy!  Teagan’s mommy!”  She’s also excited that her sister is going to be there too and shouting about “Ashlin, right dere!”   She asks for a kiss before I go and get Ashlin settled.  Yay!  I hope she always asks for a kiss before we say goodbye for the day.

Ashlin was a bit more subdued than her older sister.  Curious and confused at first, not sure what was going on.  I give the instructor the quick run down – she sleeps swaddled best, she’s on a routine that’s not quite two hours between naps, three hours between feedings, watch out! she rolls all over, sits well when supported, and can do a tripod sit on her own for about 15 seconds now, she’s grabby and will look for dropped toys, but usually in a good mood and smiles a lot.  I mention that she’s breastfed, so hasn’t gotten many bottles.  As I hand my baby to the instructor, Ashlin breaks down into tears.  I know she doesn’t understand.  I give my baby a big hug and kiss. I don’t cry.  I tell the instructor to call me if there are any issues, and I leave my baby.

It wasn’t easy.  I didn’t cry, although I did get very close. <sigh>

When I got into the car, Melt With You was playing on the radio.  Warm and happy thoughts tried to overcome the sadness.  I missed my baby.

BTW, work sucked.

13 responses to “September 8, 2011

  1. Chrissy says:

    I’ve been thinking about you today. I hope the days get easier for you!

  2. lisasff says:

    Nina commented on your link.

    Nina wrote: “:( Sad day when the baby has to go to daycare.”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

    Yeah, it’s sad, even if it does end up being good for them… It’s not easy. I want to go get her now and snuggle her for the rest of the afternoon

    • lisasff says:

      Nina wrote: “Wait till they are 8 and leave you behind without so much as a glance. Or 15 when they forget you exist.:(( Or 45 when they have husbands and families. KIDS!!! Dagnabbit why can’t they just be cute and sweet forever.”

      ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

      Damn, woman! Time is going fast enough, without you pushing it faster! LOL!

      • lisasff says:

        Nina wrote: “Sorry Lisa, I was just thinking about mine who went to her BRAND new school AND daycare as if it were NOTHING. Like- dudes, come on…aren’t you a LITTLE sad to leave me???”

        ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

        Nina, You need to beat some sense into your children – they should totally be sad to leave you!! Have you tried bribing them with bacon?

        • lisasff says:

          Nina wrote: “Bacon? Hmm, I think little girls prefer cupcakes. Maybe BACON COVERED CUPCAKES. That’ll lure em in, it will take a lot though since my first baby girl is a mere 5’11.They are not at all scrumptions when they are 5’11.”

          ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

          You’ll catch everyone with bacon covered cupcakes. And Damn! That’s one tall kid. 5’11 is taller than me.

      • lisasff says:

        Kat O* W* commented on your link.

        Kat wrote: “I agree with [Nina]….wait…it’ll seem like they never were little at all. ”

        ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

        Kat! Noooooooooo!!!!!!!!! I don’t want the little piggies to get bigger… Toes on a big kid aren’t any where as nomable as toes on a baby!!

        • lisasff says:

          Nina wrote: “*sigh* My little one still wears pink and dresses and pigtails at least. But Im sure that will end soon. Then its dressing up chihuahuas for me. Enjoy your lil piggies now.”

          ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~

          Your 5’11 little one? That’s got to be adorable!!! Teagan asked for piggy tails this morning :) Usually she hates when I brush her hair, I get the “mean mama. No. Brushing. Hair.”

          You do know you can get lifelike baby dolls to dress up, instead of chihuahuas…

  3. lisasff says:

    Lori G* commented on your link.

    Lori wrote: “The song in the car is just a reminder of the other “girls” who love you too. : ) Nice to hear the girls were so cooperative. I hope it continues a long, long time.”

    ~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*~*

    Lori, it was like getting a hug when I needed it.

  4. Kris A says:

    It will get easier. I am proud of you…you made it!!! I cried after putting Katie on the HS bus this year…there is no way I am old enough to have a freshman. The young lady who got on that bus (looking 20..she has her mom’s curves) can’t be mine. And Thomas comes up to my nose now. But at least he still wants a cuddle and hugs. Katie still does…in private…God forbid in front of another person!

    • lisasff says:

      I did survive! And Ashlin did too, though it is concerning that she only had 2oz of breast milk all day. I know she’ll eventually get better on bottles. She also slept very well last night… one good thing, they may be able to wean her from swaddles and the bouncer :D

  5. […] September 8, 2011 (lisasff.wordpress.com) Eco World Content From Across The Internet. Featured on EcoPressed Opower and Honeywell launch a smart thermostat Advertisement LD_AddCustomAttr("AdOpt", "1"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Origin", "other"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_bg", "ffffff"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_border", "dddddd"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_text", "333333"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_link", "990000"); LD_AddCustomAttr("theme_url", "990000"); LD_AddCustomAttr("LangId", "1"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Autotag", "food"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Autotag", "health"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Autotag", "family"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "baby"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "ashlin"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "bottle"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "day-care"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "frustration"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "nipple"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "pacifier"); LD_AddCustomAttr("Tag", "success"); LD_AddSlot("wpcom_below_post"); LD_GetBids(); Share this:StumbleUponDiggRedditTwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  6. […] September 8, 2011 (lisasff.wordpress.com) […]

Please Share Your Thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 425 other followers

