Whatever!

What to muse about today?

April 2, 2011

on April 2, 2011

Home.  We’re home.  Yay.

Busy morning at the hospital.  I had my staples removed around 7:30am.  The same resident who’s been stopping in every morning was still on rounds.  Nice to have the continuity.  She promised that removing the staples did not use a stapler remover like you get at Office Depot.  LOL.  Of course that’s where my mind had dwelled all week.  She also said that they wouldn’t hurt.  She was right.  It wasn’t that bad.  There were one or two that were a bit more twingy than the others – there were about 14 or so – but all in all, not bad.  No numbing or anything, just popped them off gently, somehow.  I didn’t watch.  I didn’t want to know, though I did wonder what they looked like.

She then put steri strips on, while I joked about how I was worried all my guts would just ooze out if I laughed too hard.  She laughed at that.  According to her,  the incision was almost healed – though it has to be new tender skin.  I still need to be careful about moving and stuff, but it was all closed and healing nicely.  Still it’s hard to not worry about having a small hole become larger and then all my guts slip out.  It hurts to much to have that go completely away.

So, Stu drive home, carefully, trying to avoid the pot holes and the sharp turns.  getting out of the car was not fun, but walking into my house was.  Teagan was a bit funny at first, but everyone was crowding her, trying to make sure she was ok.  After a bit, they backed off.  She got better.

I sat with her while she had lunch – steamed veggies with dup dup – dumpling sauce or something.  She wanted more and more dup dup.  LOL.  It was nice getting a kiss and hug from her.  It’s going to be a challenge to not pick her up.

My parents are here, along with my sister.  They’re the distraction for Teagan.  The help I need for getting food and stuff.  I’m not supposed to do the stairs more than once or twice a day.  I need to keep my feet up.  No driving for two weeks.  No bending.  No carrying anything heavier than the baby – 7 lbs .5oz as of this morning.

I don’t have any pictures.  I will update with a picture from mom or sis tomorrow.

I’m going to sleep in my bed.  Heaven.

8 responses to “April 2, 2011

  1. Kate says:

    Welcome home!

    • lisasff says:

      Thanks!! Kate, it’s amazing how good it is to be home. I had thought about coming home Friday, but am really glad I took the “extra” day. The difference in how I felt between Friday afternoon and Saturday morning is incredible. Today I had a coughing jag, and although was in severe pain, wasn’t bent over in tears like I would have been even yesterday.

  2. Kris A says:

    So glad you are home and doing OK. Start thinking of what you want me to cook! Is Ashlin a good nurser? Keep those feet up and be the queen!

    • lisasff says:

      Kris, it’s crazy how much better I feel today than yesterday. Ashlin’s a much better nurser than Teagan was. She has her issues, but basically will nurse for a long time. I was supplimenting at the hospital – a little bit – but not any more! Trying to keep my feet up as much as possible, but sometimes it’s not easy :)

  3. Mags says:

    just caught up with all the excitement. She’s really cute! Glad things came out well, if rather more complicated than hoped.

  4. Tom Poalinelli says:

    Glad to hear you are home Lisa.

Please Share Your Thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 430 other followers

