Whatever!

What to muse about today?

February 3, 2011 – Star Wars Edition

Darth Vader (Prowse) makes his first entrance ...

Image via Wikipedia

Yesterday two of the sites I lke reading (Bad Mom’s Club and Moxie BirdMama Pop’s offshoot) both had articles about the same VW commercial.  Today, Stu saw it on TV. 

I love when I get to see things first.  He’s always beating me to punches on things – could be that I fall asleep at 9pm most nights.  LOL.  Anyway, I’m calling myself winner on this… Though it really is Star Wars who wins here:

http://thebadmomsclub.com/2011/02/if-star-wars-geeks-ruled-the-world.html

http://www.moxiebird.com/2011/02/who-knew-darth-vader-could-be-this-cute.html

How can you not love it?    Makes me glad that we named our daughter either after a sith or a Jedi…  Darth Maëlys has a nice ring to it.  LOL.  We need a costume as cool now.

6 Comments »

February 3, 2011

It was a beautiful drive this morning.  The sun shining through the ice on the trees.  Mountains of shimmery trees.  Breathtaking.

I had a prenatal visit this morning with my OB, not the High-Risk people.  OB visits I try to make with the mid-wives.  My OB has great mid-wives.  Today’s was the one who almost delivered Teagan.  She stuck with me all day through induction and labor, until she had to leave, due to an emergency with her husband.  So, I ended up pushing with the doctor, who ended up doing the actual delivery.

Anyway.  It was great to see her again.  She’s so wonderfully granola.  It was sort of like going home.  (Back when home was granola too, and not touristy mass-market).  I got yelled at, (nicely enough), for my weight gain – I really haven’t gained that much – though more than they wanted.  More than they want with a 93rd%ile baby, partial placenta previa, and a clotting disorder.   Blood pressure was good, everything else was good.  Baby is still breech – footling breech.  So, she gave me exercises to do to try to turn the baby.  They’re more like relaxing techniques than exercises – lying on a hard surface with hips raised by pillows for 10 minutes, on an empty stomach.  Ok, I can do that.  They suggest before lunch and dinner.  I can do breakfast and dinner…

This exercise should turn about 80% of breech babies.    Breech babies seems to be a bit more common in a second pregnancy, along with a few other factors (fibroids, which so many women have, and placenta previa.  I’ve got three possible causes.  Great.

So, Footling Breech seems to be one of the less common types of breech baby.  If the exercises don’t work, there aren’t too many options.  They don’t reccommend doing an external cephalic version with a placenta previa.  The external version can start labor, which they don’t want if you have a previa, even a marginal one.

Footling breech babies are also more prone, if delivered vaginally, head entrapment, leading to much more serious incisions than I want to have happen to certain areas.  There’s also the issue of cord prolapse being a serious, and all too common complication.  Most hospitals in the US won’t deliver a breech (any type of breech) baby vaginally.

It’s looking more and more like I’m going to end up with no choice.

Fingers crossed that 1.  The baby turns and 2.  The previa resolves.  I have another ultrasound to check in three weeks.

4 Comments »

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 424 other followers