Whatever!

What to muse about today?

July 2, 2009

on July 2, 2009

Picture 146

So, it’s six weeks since Teagan’s birth.  I still haven’t written up her birth story.  I do need to do that.  There are a few parts that need remembering, some, well, maybe not.  Those that are still lingering, definately  not.

A lot has happened in these six weeks, in no particular order:

  1. Teagan has gained just about 3 pounds – she’s 9 pounds 5 oz!  Little piglet!  She was born at 6 pounds 11oz, and left the hospital at 6 pounds 7oz. 
  2. Teagan is not quite out of the newborn size diapers.  But she’s close!  Too close.  <sniff>
  3. Teagan has slept an average of 4 hours straight, and occasionally we have a stretch of 6 hours!  Six glorious hours!  LOVE the sleep.  (There have also been a few times where she’s only gone two hours, but this isn’t often at all.  Maybe it’s a good thing that she’s gained some weight.)
  4. I have finished my Lovenox shots – as of last night!  This morning was the first morning in half a year that I did not needto get up and give myself a shot, (or have Stu do it).  Stu was a sweetheart as well, and took the morning shift with Teagan, so I got to sleep in luxuriously late – 8am!  Woo woo!  There will be a ceremonial “throwing out of the sharps container” tomorrow – we were too tired and hot today to bother.
  5. I have finished my “maternity leave.”  Work does a six week short term disability leave for “normal” birth, eight weeks for a c-section.  I am now on FMLA.  There are 10 weeks left of my leave.
  6. I have visited the closest day care center and gotten some information from them about leaving Teagan there once I go back.  I’m not happy about that – I got hit very hard by the blues that day, and still do when I think about it.
  7. Teagan has not needed the shield for nursing since Monday.  Yay!!  She’s just become a little less complicated to feed.  It’s been a long journey to get here though.  (Maybe another blog entry I owe.)
  8. Bella might have had a small stroke – her hind legs aren’t working so well, and she’s also lost a lot of weight…  maybe the weight that Teagan has found.  <sigh>
  9. I’ve had my six week post-partum doctor visit.
  10. I’ve lost all but four pounds of my pregnancy weight, though I still can’t fit into my clothes.  <sigh>  I’m almost there though.

There are a few things that haven’t happened though:

  1. I haven’t been able to shower before noon, except for one day.  I showered that day before Stu left for work, and he dealt with Teagan.  (I do usually get to shower, just doesn’t seem to happen before noon for some reason).
  2. I still have a tear that hasn’t healed.  (This is probably TMI).
  3. I have not been released by the doctor due to this un-healed tear.  (This is definitely TMI).
  4. My linea negra is still there! (Probably not TMI, just weird).
  5. We haven’t gotten Teagan on a schedule.  It’s probably way too early to think about it, but still.
  6. We also haven’t gotten the baby sign book, or started sign language with her yet.  Yeah, pretentious, but could be very helpful before our daughter has actual words.
  7. The bruises from my shots are still there, they haven’t gone away, although it’s just been 24 hours since the last shot.
  8. We haven’t left Teagan with a sitter – yet.  I’m sure we will soon enough though.
  9. I haven’t gotten my act together enough to have a weekly menu made up so we can shop and cook to it.  I do need to get better about that.  Food is necessary!
  10. I haven’t gotten all the thank you notes written, although I’m not too far behind. :)

And now, it’s time to go…  the piglet is crying, and I’m half asleep.

:)

2 responses to “July 2, 2009

  1. nina says:

    Showers? What are those? I ended up taking the baby swing into the bathroom with me. Motherhood!
    Sorry about the work thing, I bet that will be very difficult to leave the baby at daycare.

  2. lisasff says:

    He he he! Showers don’t seem to exist much with a small baby, do they? Our house is so small, that I leave her in the living room in the bouncy seat, go shower, and can hear the music in the bathroom.

    I am not looking forward to having to leave her… I have to stop procrastinating finding the day care though… Just about half way through leave now

Please Share Your Thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 422 other followers

