Whatever!

What to muse about today?

June 05, 2007

on June 5, 2007
 

CheezIts

Yeah, I know… A week ago I said I’d be better about blogging, and well, it seems I haven’t been. Sorry. I am trying. There’s just so much going on, so little time… I need the lawn boy back, though with the new self-propelled mower, he’s going to be getting off easy.

 So, the weirdest thing happened this morning. I go out to my car to put the travel mug of coffee and laptop in the passenger seat, like I always do before doing a final run through the house to ensure I haven’t forgotten something I’ll need at work, especially when it’s a “Trumbull Day” versus a “Clinton Day.” Trumbull means that I can’t run home if I forgot anything, Clinton, being two to three miles away, I can. I open the passenger door, put the laptop in and pop the cup holder out, and see that all the “stuff” in the drivers side door compartment is on the seat. Weird. I didn’t do that last night when I got home. I go around and see that there are also two cheez-its on the floor mat. I don’t have any cheez-its in the house. They couldn’t have been from before, as they weren’t stale, still nice and crunchy. 

 I have NO IDEA who was in my car this morning! Nothing was really out of place that I noticed, but the stuff – maps and sunglasses – from the door compartment. I had been outside until about 7:30, and then was in the living room, where I can see the car. No one touched it last night. It could be three different neighbors’ kids I suppose. Though what they were doing up and around that early in the morning, I have no idea. I’ll see if I can find out. If it was this one kid, then it’s a bit concerning that he got that far from his house without a parent knowing. He’s a Downs kid, or something like that, but an absolute sweetheart. If it was him, it could have been a thank you for the box I gave him on Saturday. I should thank him for the snack too :) 

 So, now I’m not sure if I should lock the car at night. I’ve never locked it, unless I didn’t get to unload everything and there was something sort of expensive in it. I live on a very quiet street. People don’t lock their houses. I love that. I never worry too much about falling asleep with the doors WIDE open. I don’t worry about taking a quick trip to the library or grocery store and leaving the house unlocked. it’s a good street. 

Yesterday’s Inquisition (which isn’t complete, but it was a busy work day):

 

  • Marsha
  • Maria
  • Linda
  • Marla
  • Dolly
  • Cathy
  • Broc
  • Dzintra
  • Kris

     

     

9 responses to “June 05, 2007

  1. Kell says:

    That would creep me out. Glad nothing was busted or taken.

  2. Lisa_SFF says:

    Yeah, the kids are good kids, but it was a bit strange knowing that *someone* had been in the car. If there's any way to find out what happened, I'll try, but I might be starting to lock the car at night now, which makes me a bit sad… It's like something "small town" was taken away.

  3. Tina says:

    I would lock my car. We don't always lock our doors, I nap with the door open, etc. but always lock the car doors when I am not in the car. Just a safety precaution.

  4. EM says:

    I lock everything, which always makes Lisa laugh. Though if people are going to start leaving food, then I might choose to leave it unlocked after all.

    I wonder if there's a menu.

  5. Lisa_SFF says:

    Cheez-its aren't food. Not really.

    Coming from NYC, I used to lock everything, even the screens, when I got out here, but having been here for as long, the reflex has sort of gone away. I don't lock my car in front of some places either. Granted, I don't see me ever getting ot the point that I leave the keys *IN* the ignition and go in a store or restaurant

  6. Netty says:

    WOW, that is pretty weird. The odder thing is that I SWEAR a similar thing happened to me a week ago! I thought Joe had gone in my car but he swears he didn't! (insert twilight zone music here)

  7. Lisa_SFF says:

    Netty, was your car locked?

    I got home tonight, and there was a cop in my driveway. It seems that about 7 houses on the street had cars that were entered. Basically any car that was unlocked was entered. House across the street had about $15.00 taken out, stuff thrown around. Must have happened after 11 but before 6. I feel a bit better that there were so many cars that were entered…

  8. Kell says:

    I totally understand the desire NOT to have to lock your car every night. I too enjoy living somewhere that you know you can be safe enough to just let your own things lie. Other than the drunk stealing Kirk's jeep last year (I may leave the doors open, but never the keys inside..duh), I haven't had to worry about too much.

  9. Lisa_SFF says:

    I ended up locking the car last night. <sigh> I never leave the keys in it… though sometimes I'll lock the house and leave the keys on the outside of the door. oops!

Please Share Your Thoughts

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 424 other followers

